Fata Morgana

Available on June 13, 2017

Available on June 13, 2017

Available on June 13, 2017

Available on June 13, 2017

At the height of the air war in Europe, Captain Joe Farley and the baseball-loving, wisecracking crew of the B-17 Flying Fortress Fata Morgana are in the middle of a harrowing bombing mission over East Germany when everything goes sideways. The bombs are still falling and flak is still exploding all around the 20-ton bomber as it is knocked like a bathtub duck into another world.

Suddenly stranded with the final outcasts of a desolated world, Captain Farley navigates a maze of treachery and wonder—and finds a love seemingly decreed by fate—as his bomber becomes a pawn in a centuries-old conflict between remnants of advanced but decaying civilizations. Caught among these bitter enemies, a vast power that has brought them here for its own purposes, and a terrifying living weapon bent on their destruction, the crew must use every bit of their formidable inventiveness and courage to survive.

Fata Morgana—the epic novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time.

Editorial Reviews

“Action, adventure, cool speculative events, well-drawn characters, and an ending that sticks the landing: Fata Morgana pushes all my happy buttons.”

John Scalzi, New York Times bestselling author

“So gripping and real it felt as if it were logged just minutes after landing. Fata Morgana is squarely in the ranks of the most classic and ingenious science fiction—a masterwork of purest cinema, relentlessly charming and inventive to the end.”

Chris Sanders, director of Lilo & Stitch and How to Train Your Dragon

“The twists, turns, and adrenaline never stop flowing in Fata Morgana. You will be transported to another world in more ways than one. Easily one of the hardest hitting science fiction books of 2017!”

Nicholas Sansbury Smith, USA Today bestselling author of Hell Divers

“Writer Boyett and film director Mitchroney team up for this fast-paced alternate-world tale that opens at the height of WWII…The prose is energetic, combining some of the gentler wit of Catch-22 with riffs on dystopian fiction clichés. Boyett and Mitchroney elevate the pulpy vibe with unusual and fully developed protagonists…Fans of fun SF will enjoy this tale in the tradition of Forstchen and Morrison’s Crystal Warriors books and Taylor Anderson’s Destroyermen series.”

Publishers Weekly

“A rip-roaring adventure full of heart, duty, and sacrifice, Fata Morgana is a perfect combination of historical-novel authenticity and space-opera splendor. I couldn’t put it down, and the ending made me cry.”

Brooke Johnson, author of the Chroniker City series

Fata Morgana is genre-bending, epic, and wholly original: an unexpected, fascinating page-turner.”

Lee Kelly, author of A Criminal Magic and City of Savages

Fata Morgana is amazingly true to history, incredibly human, and expertly told.”

Joe Zieja, author of Mechanical Failure

Fata Morgana is a classic WWII American Air Force drama juxtaposed with epic science fiction, and it works!…This was a great, jaw-dropping yarn, and one I would recommend to someone with a penchant for realistic WWII reenactments.”

Spinning Jenny’s Book Blog

Author Biography

Steven R. Boyett’s (steveboy.com) novels include the fantasy classic Ariel, The Architect of Sleep, Elegy Beach, and Mortality Bridge. He wrote a draft of Toy Story 2 for Pixar/Disney, and created the groundbreaking online music series Podrunner and Groovelectric. He has been a professional martial arts instructor, paper marbler, advertising copywriter, proofreader, writing teacher, website designer & editor, chapbook publisher, and DJ who has played in major cities and Burning Man. He lives in the San Francisco Bay area.

Titles by Author > See all

Author Biography

Ken Mitchroney’s (facebook.com/Ratfink) film and television credits include director, head of story, director of photography, and storyboard artist on Storks, The Lego Movie, The Ant Bully, Toy Story 2, Monsters Inc., The Annoying Orange Show, Mighty Magiswords, and more. His comic illustration includes Ren & Stimpy, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Myth Conceptions, and creating the influential Space Ark. He is an official artist for the Ed “Big Daddy” Roth estate, and official illustrator for the Oakland Athletics and at one time the Baltimore Orioles. Mitchroney has been a professional race-car driver and pinstriper, and restores and runs vintage locomotives. He is currently involved with the restoration of the Ward Kimball collection at the Southern California Railway Museum in Perris, California. He lives and works in the San Francisco Bay area and Los Angeles.

Reader Biography

MacLeod Andrews is an actor, voice actor, and audiobook narrator. He has narrated dozens of audiobooks, earning eight AudioFile Earphones Awards and placing as a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015. He is a company member of Rising Phoenix Repertory in Los Angeles.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
  • Author Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions