Expecting to Die

The menacing woods of Grizzly Falls, Montana, are not for the faint of heart. But for some, they’re the perfect setting for partying and pranks. They don’t know there’s a rapt audience amid the tangled trees, a killer with a different kind of game in mind, for whom the woods are dark and deep—and perfectly deadly…

Some places earn their bad reputation through tall tales or chance. Grizzly Falls is different. Here, killers aren’t just the stuff of legends and campfire lore. Someone is in the nighttime shadows, watching the local teens play around in the moonlit woods. Waiting for the right moment, the right victim. Waiting to take away a life.

Detective Regan Pescoli is counting the days until her maternity leave. Exhausted and emotional, the last thing she needs is another suspected serial killer. Especially when her daughter, Bianca, is swept up in the media storm. When a reality show arrives in town, the chaos only makes it harder for Pescoli and her partner, Selena Alvarez, to distinguish rumor from truth.

Another body is found…and another. And as the nightmare strikes closer to home, Pescoli races to find the terror lingering in the darkness, where there are too many places to hide…and countless places to die…

Editorial Reviews

“Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers’ nerves…Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding or fans of Mary Higgins Clark.”

Booklist on Booklist

Author Biography

Lisa Jackson is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of numerous series and stand-alone works. She has written over eighty-five novels, primarily in the romance and suspense genres. She also cowrote the Colony series with Nancy Bush. Jackson won the RT Book Reviews award for best romantic suspense novels in 2007 and is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, and Romance Writers of America.

Titles by Author > See all

Reader Biography

Natalie Ross is an actress and voice-over artist whose acting credits include multiple appearances in the television series All My Children, among others. She is an AudioFile Earphones Award-winning narrator.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions