Heartbreak Hotel:

An Alex Delaware Novel

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Psychologist Alex Delaware and Detective Milo Sturgis investigate the murder of woman who led a long life full of dark secrets.

At nearly 100, Della Mars isn’t sleuth and child psychologist Alex Delaware’s typical patient. She’s sought him out for a reason, though, one that she refuses to reveal during their first session. Next time. Intrigued, Alex arrives at Della’s glamorous L.A. penthouse for their second appointment, only to find an EMT outside the door to the suite and his new patient dead inside. When the autopsy comes back with a shocking verdict, strangulation, Alex calls in detective Milo Sturgis to help solve the murder. But to understand her mysterious death, Alex and Milo must unravel the even more mysterious life of Della Mars.

Editorial Reviews

“Jonathan Kellerman’s psychology skills and dark imagination are a potent literary mix.”

Los Angeles Times, praise for the author

“The intricate plot is filled with twists and turns, and includes a final surprise at the end. Rubinstein seems to enjoy narrating this engaging mystery populated with old-time gangsters, a femme fatale, a long-ago jewel heist, and hidden treasure. Listeners will be delighted with the story and with Rubinstein’s presentation.”


Author Biography

Jonathan Kellerman is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty crime novels, including the Alex Delaware series, The Butcher’s Theater, Billy Straight, The Conspiracy Club, Twisted, and True Detectives. With his wife, bestselling novelist Faye Kellerman, he coauthored Double Homicide and Capital Crimes. He is also the author of two children’s books and numerous nonfiction works, including Savage Spawn: Reflections on Violent Children and With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars. He has won the Goldwyn, Edgar, and Anthony awards and has been nominated for a Shamus Award. He and Faye live in California, New Mexico, and New York.

Titles by Author > See all

Reader Biography

John Rubinstein is an actor, composer, and director who won a Tony Award for his starring role in Broadway’s Children of a Lesser God. He has narrated dozens of audiobooks, earning several AudioFile Earphones Awards and being named a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2013.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions