1 Results for:

Physical Disabilities

  • Sort by:
  • Best Selling
Results: 1 – 1 of 1
  1. 9.4 hrs • 1/14/2014 • Unabridged

    The celebrated author of Down the Nile travels far afield as part of her investigation into the world of the blind. In the tradition of Oliver Sacks’ The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken’s international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world’s blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular “quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world.” In listening to For the Benefit of Those Who See, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

    Available Formats: Download

    For the Benefit of Those Who See

    9.4 hrs • 1/14/14 • Unabridged
Loading more titles...
See More Titles Loading More Titles ... Back To Top
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions