4 Results for:

Pediatrics

  • Sort by:
  • Best Selling
Results: 1 – 4 of 4
  1. 9.0 hrs • 8/4/2015 • Unabridged

    Uniquely Human is a groundbreaking book on autism, by one of the world’s leading experts, who portrays autism not as a tragic disability, but as a unique way of being human. Autism is usually portrayed as a checklist of deficits, including difficulties interacting socially, problems in communicating, sensory challenges, and repetitive behavior patterns. This perspective leads to therapies focused on ridding individuals of “autistic” symptoms. Now Dr. Barry M. Prizant, an internationally renowned autism expert, offers a new and compelling paradigm: the most successful approaches to autism don’t aim at fixing a person by eliminating symptoms, but by seeking to understand the individual’s experience and what underlies the behavior. In Uniquely Human, Dr. Prizant suggests a major shift in understanding autism: instead of classifying “autistic” behaviors as signs of pathology, he sees them as part of a range of strategies to cope with a world that feels chaotic and overwhelming. Rather than curb these behaviors, it’s better to enhance abilities, build on strengths, and offer supports that will naturally lead to more desirable behavior and a better quality of life. In fact, argues Dr. Prizant, attempts to eliminate “autistic” behaviors may actually interfere with important developmental processes. While it never discounts the difficulties of living with autism, Uniquely Human offers inspiring stories, and practical advice drawn from Dr. Prizant’s four-decade career working in universities, schools, hospitals, and in private practice. It conveys a deep respect for people with autism and the qualities that make them special. Filled with humanity and wisdom, Uniquely Human offers a compassionate and insightful perspective that parents, professionals, and family members will find uplifting and hopeful.

    Available Formats: Download, CD, MP3 CD, Digital Rental
    Uniquely Human by Barry M. Prizant, PhD

    Uniquely Human

    By Barry M. Prizant, PhD, with Tom Fields-Meyer
    Read by P. J. Ochlan
    9.0 hrs • 8/4/15 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD, MP3 CD, Digital Rental
  2. 7.8 hrs • 1/15/2013 • Unabridged

    For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe comes a mother’s unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight and the challenges of modern parenting. When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues—not to mention spotty eating habits—successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity? In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process—complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies—Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem. Compounding the challenge were eating environments—from school to restaurants to birthday parties—that set Bea up to fail and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing. The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity. A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss’s success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

    Available Formats: Download

    The Heavy

    7.8 hrs • 1/15/13 • Unabridged
    Download
  3. 8.1 hrs • 3/26/2012 • Unabridged

    Written by an expert in the field of childhood anxiety disorders, this indispensable guide provides parents with safe, proven methods for reducing childhood anxiety. Anxiety is the number one mental health problem facing young people today. Childhood should be a happy and carefree time, yet more and more children today are exhibiting symptoms of anxiety, from bedwetting and clinginess to frequent stomach aches, nightmares, and even refusing to go to school. Parents everywhere want to know: All children have fears, but how much is normal? How can you know when stress has crossed over into a full-blown anxiety disorder? Most parents don’t know how to recognize when there is a real problem—and how to deal with it when there is. In Freeing Your Child from Anxiety, a childhood anxiety disorder specialist examines all manifestations of childhood fears, including social anxiety, Tourette’s syndrome, hair-pulling, and obsessive compulsive disorder, and guides you through a proven program to help your child back to emotional safety. No child is immune from the effects of stress in today’s media-saturated society. Fortunately, anxiety disorders are treatable. By following these simple solutions, parents can prevent their children from needlessly suffering.

    Available Formats: Download

    Freeing Your Child From Anxiety

    8.1 hrs • 3/26/12 • Unabridged
    Download
  4. 9.5 hrs • 11/14/2011 • Unabridged

    From the authors of the award-winning Welcome to Your Brain comes an essential new book that answers the question, “What’s going on in my child’s head?” How children think is one of the most enduring mysteries—and difficulties—encountered by parents. In an effort to raise our children smarter, happier, stronger, and better, parents will try almost anything, from vitamins to toys to DVDs. But how can we tell marketing from real science? And what really goes through your kid’s growing mind—as an infant, in school, and during adolescence? Neuroscientists Sandra Aamodt and Sam Wang (who is also a parent) explain the facets and functions of the developing brain, discussing salient subjects such as sleep problems, language learning, gender differences, and autism. They dispel common myths about important subjects such as the value of educational videos for babies, the meaning of ADHD in the classroom, and the best predictor of academic success (hint: It’s not IQ). Most of all, this book helps you know when to worry, how to respond, and, most important, when to relax. Welcome to Your Child’s Brain upends myths and misinformation with practical advice, surprising revelations, and real, reliable science. It’s essential reading for parents of children of any age, from infancy well into their teens.

    Available Formats: Download

    Welcome to Your Child’s Brain

    Foreword by Ellen Galinsky
    Read by Pete Larkin
    9.5 hrs • 11/14/11 • Unabridged
    Download
Loading more titles...
See More Titles Loading More Titles ... Back To Top
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions