68 Results for:

Commentary & Opinion

  • Sort by:
  • Best Selling
Results: 1 – 16 of 68
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  1. 11.1 hrs • 8/23/2016 • Unabridged

    Americans today are frustrated and anxious. Our economy is sluggish and leaves workers insecure. Income inequality, cultural divisions, and political polarization increasingly pull us apart. Our governing institutions often seem paralyzed. And our politics has failed to rise to these challenges. No wonder, then, that Americans—and the politicians who represent them—are overwhelmingly nostalgic for a better time. The Left looks back to the middle of the twentieth century, when unions were strong, large public programs promised to solve pressing social problems, and the movements for racial integration and sexual equality were advancing. The Right looks back to the Reagan Era, when deregulation and lower taxes spurred the economy, cultural traditionalism seemed resurgent, and America was confident and optimistic. Each side thinks returning to its golden age could solve America’s problems. In The Fractured Republic, Yuval Levin argues that this politics of nostalgia is failing twenty-first-century Americans. Both parties are blind to how America has changed over the past half century—as the large, consolidated institutions that once dominated our economy, politics, and culture have fragmented and become smaller, more diverse, and personalized. Individualism, dynamism, and liberalization have come at the cost of dwindling solidarity, cohesion, and social order. This has left us with more choices in every realm of life but less security, stability, and national unity. Both our strengths and our weaknesses are therefore consequences of these changes. And the dysfunctions of our fragmented national life will need to be answered by the strengths of our decentralized, diverse, dynamic nation. Levin argues that this calls for a modernizing politics that avoids both radical individualism and a centralizing statism and instead revives the middle layers of society—families and communities, schools and churches, charities and associations, local governments and markets. Through them, we can achieve not a single solution to the problems of our age but multiple and tailored answers fitted to the daunting range of challenges we face and suited to enable an American revival.

    Available Formats: Download, CD

    The Fractured Republic

    11.1 hrs • 8/23/16 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD
  2. 6.2 hrs • 8/23/2016 • Unabridged

    Donald Trump isn’t a politician—he’s a one-man wrecking ball against our dysfunctional and corrupt establishment. Now Ann Coulter, with her unique insight, candor, and sense of humor, makes the definitive case for why we should all join his revolution. The three biggest news stories of the 2016 election have been Trump, Trump, and Trump. The media have twisted themselves in knots, trying to grasp how he won over millions of Republicans, whether he really has a shot in November, and what he’d be like as President. But Ann Coulter isn’t puzzled. She knows why Trump was the only one of 17 GOP contenders who captured the spirit of our time. She gets the power of addressing the pain of the silent majority and saying things the PC Thought Police considers unspeakable. She argues that a bull in the china shop is exactly what we need to make America great again. In this short but powerful book, Coulter explains why conservatives, moderates, and even disgruntled Democrats should set aside their doubts and embrace Trump: He’s flipped the GOP from a globalist party to a nationalist party, just when it’s essential that we put America first in our trade deals and alliances. He’s abandoned the GOP’s decades-long commitment to a bellicose foreign policy, at a time when the entire country is sick of unnecessary wars. He’s ended GOP pandering to Hispanics with his hard line on immigration. Working class Americans finally have a champion against open borders and cheap immigrant labor. He’s broken the power of identity politics. It turns out you don’t need to act religious to win the Evangelical vote; or talk about your dad the bartender to win the blue collar vote; or have served in the military to win the military vote. He’s overturned the media’s traditional role in setting the agenda and defining who gets to be considered “presidential.” He’s exposed political consultants as grifters and hacks, most of whom don’t know real voters from a hole in the ground. If you’re already a Trump fan, Ann Coulter will help you defend and promote your position. If you’re not,

    Available Formats: CD, Download

    In Trump We Trust

    6.2 hrs • 8/23/16 • Unabridged
    CD
    Also: Download
  3. 13.1 hrs • 8/9/2016 • Unabridged

    The first serious book to examine what happens when the ancient boundary between war and peace is erased. Once, war was a temporary state of affairs—a violent but brief interlude between times of peace. Today, America’s wars are everywhere and forever: our enemies change constantly and rarely wear uniforms, and virtually anything can become a weapon. As war expands, so does the role of the US military. Today, military personnel don’t just “kill people and break stuff.” Instead, they analyze computer code, train Afghan judges, build Ebola isolation wards, eavesdrop on electronic communications, develop soap operas, and patrol for pirates. You name it, the military does it. Rosa Brooks traces this seismic shift in how America wages war from an unconventional perspective—that of a former top Pentagon official who is the daughter of two anti-war protesters and a human rights activist married to an Army Green Beret. Her experiences lead her to an urgent warning: When the boundaries around war disappear, we risk destroying America’s founding values and the laws and institutions we’ve built—and undermining the international rules and organizations that keep our world from sliding towards chaos. If Russia and China have recently grown bolder in their foreign adventures, it’s no accident; US precedents have paved the way for the increasingly unconstrained use of military power by states around the globe. Meanwhile, we continue to pile new tasks onto the military, making it increasingly ill-prepared for the threats America will face in the years to come. By turns a memoir, a work of journalism, a scholarly exploration into history, anthropology and law, and a rallying cry, How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything transforms the familiar into the alien, showing us that the culture we inhabit is reshaping us in ways we may suspect, but don’t really understand. It’s the kind of book that will leave you moved, astonished, and profoundly disturbed, for the world around us is quietly changing beyond recognition—and time is running out to make things right.

    Available Formats: Download
    Download
  4. 8.7 hrs • 8/2/2016 • Unabridged

    Glenn Beck, #1 bestselling author and radio host, reveals the cold truth behind the ideology of progressivism and how the tenets of this dangerous belief system are eroding the foundation of this country. WHY DO WE ACCEPT THE LIES? Politics is no longer about pointing to a shining city on the hill; it’s about promising you a shiny new car for your driveway. The candidate who tells the people what they want to hear is usually the one who wins—facts be damned. Politicians may be sleazy and spineless, but they’re not stupid. They see that the way to win is by first telling people everything that is wrong with the world, and then painting a vision of the life they want—a Utopian vision that they’ll create right here on earth, one where no one is ever sick or hungry, jobless, or homeless. All we have to do is surrender our freedom and someone else’s wallet and they’ll make it happen. And so they continue to lie, and we continue to believe them, and they keep winning elections. The only way to break the cycle is to understand why Americans fall for the deception over and over again. In Liars, #1 bestselling author and nationally syndicated radio host Glenn Beck reveals the startlingly simple answer: fear. At our most basic level, we’re all afraid of something. Progressives from both parties exploit this by first pointing out the things we should be afraid of, and then offering us “solutions” to these fears. Solutions that always require us to give up our freedoms. Solutions that are based on two things: lies, and an unrelenting hunger for power and control. In his signature no-holds-barred way, Beck destroys the false promises of Progressivism and takes us through its history, showing how each “wave” built up on the one before it, ultimately washing up to the beach in the form of Barack Obama—and whoever is next.

    Available Formats: Download

    Liars

    8.7 hrs • 8/2/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  5. 9.2 hrs • 7/25/2016 • Unabridged

    Liberals take great pride in their supposed openmindedness. Yet when it comes to hot-button issues like radical Islam, global warming, and abortion, “openminded” liberals go to great lengths to discredit and suppress the ideas of their opponents. Breitbart senior editor Joel Pollak exposes the nineteen key ideas that today’s liberals are desperate to suppress, revealing the blatant hypocrisy of left-wing leaders and pundits who preach tolerance but practice intolerance.

    Available Formats: Download, CD, MP3 CD, Digital Rental
    See No Evil by Joel B. Pollak

    See No Evil

    9.2 hrs • 7/25/16 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD, MP3 CD, Digital Rental
  6. 10.5 hrs • 6/28/2016 • Unabridged

    A Finnish journalist, now a naturalized American citizen, asks Americans to draw on elements of the Nordic way of life to nurture a fairer, happier, more secure, and less stressful society for themselves and their children. Moving to America in 2008, Finnish journalist Anu Partanen quickly went from confident, successful professional to wary, self-doubting mess. She found that navigating the basics of everyday life—from buying a cell phone and filing taxes to education and childcare—was much more complicated and stressful than anything she encountered in her homeland. At first, she attributed her crippling anxiety to the difficulty of adapting to a freewheeling new culture. But as she got to know Americans better, she discovered they shared her deep apprehension. To understand why life is so different in the U.S. and Finland, Partanen began to look closely at both. In The Nordic Theory of Everything, Partanen compares and contrasts life in the United States with life in the Nordic region, focusing on four key relationships—parents and children, men and women, employees and employers, and government and citizens. She debunks criticism that Nordic countries are socialist “nanny states,” revealing instead that it is we Americans who are far more enmeshed in unhealthy dependencies than we realize. As Partanen explains step by step, the Nordic approach allows citizens to enjoy more individual freedom and independence than we do. Partanen wants to open Americans’ eyes to how much better things can be—to show her beloved new country what it can learn from her homeland to reinvigorate and fulfill the promise of the American dream—to provide the opportunity to live a healthy, safe, economically secure, upwardly mobile life for everyone. Offering insights, advice, and solutions, The Nordic Theory of Everything makes a convincing argument that we can rebuild our society, rekindle our optimism, and restore true freedom to our relationships and lives.

    Available Formats: Download

    The Nordic Theory of Everything

    Read by TBD
    10.5 hrs • 6/28/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  7. 7.4 hrs • 6/28/2016 • Unabridged

    From David Brat, the college professor who made political headlines when he unseated majority leader Eric Cantor, comes his plan for restoring fiscal liberty for America.Congressman David Brat’s odds-defying win against Eric Cantor—a triumph of a modest $200,000 campaign fund against a $5 million war chest—immediately brought David Brat, heretofore a liberal arts college economics professor, into the political limelight. Now, in his first book, American Underdog, Brat examines how we brought down the status quo by tapping into moral and economic lessons as old as our civilization and discusses how Washington can learn from history instead of ignoring it. A fighter for children, he illuminates how our current fiscal policies are selling their future, and outlines new ways to move forward with a conservative agenda that provides fairer treatment for all.

    Available Formats: Download

    American Underdog

    7.4 hrs • 6/28/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  8. 7.4 hrs • 6/28/2016 • Unabridged

    With humor and a modern perspective, young conservative journalist Kristin Tate points out what’s broken in our government and shows readers how they can fix it. Do you really think you’re “free?” #LOL. DC politicians ship our friends and family overseas to fight in wars we shouldn’t be fighting. They monitor our emails, record our phone calls, and peer into our snail mail. They spend our hard-earned cash on things no disciplined family would buy. They tell us who we can marry and what we can put in our bodies. They throw us in overcrowded prisons for smoking pot. They take lavish trips around the world, staying in five-star hotels … and it comes straight out of our paychecks. This isn’t freedom. Government Gone Wild is a brash, bold ride through the carnival of absurdities that our broken system has become. This isn’t about Democrats vs. Republicans … it’s about inspiring hard working Americans to give a damn so we can take our country back. This is your wake-up call. You’re not anywhere near as free as you think you are—but you can be. We’re not as prosperous as we once were—but we can be.

    Available Formats: Download

    Government Gone Wild

    7.4 hrs • 6/28/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  9. 5.3 hrs • 6/21/2016 • Unabridged

    Mary Eberstadt, “one of the most acute and creative social observers of our time” (Francis Fukuyama), shines a much-needed spotlight on a disturbing trend in American society: discrimination against traditional religious belief and believers, who are being aggressively pushed out of public life by the concerted efforts of militant secularists. In It’s Dangerous to Believe, Mary Eberstadt documents how people of faith—especially Christians who adhere to traditional religious beliefs—face widespread discrimination in today’s increasingly secular society. Eberstadt details how recent laws, court decisions, and intimidation on campuses and elsewhere threaten believers who fear losing their jobs, their communities, and their basic freedoms solely because of their convictions. They fear that their religious universities and colleges will capitulate to aggressive secularist demands. They fear that they and their families will be ostracized or will have to lose their religion because of mounting social and financial penalties for believing. They fear they won’t be able to maintain charitable operations that help the sick and feed the hungry. Is this what we want for our country? Religious freedom is a fundamental right, enshrined in the First Amendment. With It’s Dangerous to Believe, Eberstadt calls attention to this growing bigotry and seeks to open the minds of secular liberals whose otherwise good intentions are transforming them into modern inquisitors. Not until these progressives live up to their own standards of tolerance and diversity, she reminds us, can we build the inclusive society America was meant to be.

    Available Formats: Download, CD, MP3 CD
    It’s Dangerous to Believe by Mary Eberstadt

    It’s Dangerous to Believe

    5.3 hrs • 6/21/16 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD, MP3 CD
  10. 7.2 hrs • 6/21/2016 • Unabridged

    Blaze TV and top radio host Dana Loesch explains that the biggest political problem today is that the people who run this country have no idea what life is really like for ordinary Americans. In fact, they have contempt for the very people they claim to represent. When the owners of a small pizza parlor in Indiana were asked by the local press whether they would ever cater a gay wedding, they said no, citing their personal religious beliefs. The internet responded with immediate outrage, posting death threats and vicious online reviews, and forcing them to shut down. All for expressing a personal opinion rooted in faith, in response to a completely hypothetical question. A new front in the culture war had been opened. When the owners of the pizza parlor told Dana Loesch on a Blaze TV interview that they might never reopen, Loesch started a fundraising campaign. Hundreds of thousands of dollars quickly poured in to support them. The people donating weren’t taking a stand against gay rights; they just believed that a random mom-and-pop shop shouldn’t be run out of business because media and political elites on both coasts caricature and vilify rural Americans. Most of the problems with our country today can be traced to a very simple cause—the growing disconnect between the government and media elites and the rest of us, the old-fashioned, hard-working, God-fearing Americans who are proud to live in middle America. As Loesch explains, too many people getting on their high horse about Wal-Mart have never shopped in one. Protesters outraged at small town cops have never been helped by one. Environmentalists who claim to want to protect the spotted owl have never been in the woods with one. Atheists who attack committed Christians have never sat in a pew with one. Loesch doesn’t take aims solely at the Democrats; some Republicans in Congress and on the presidential campaign trail have also forgotten what life is like for the people back home. While these so-called leaders may have forgotten the people in coal towns and farming communities, the voters in those communities haven’t forgotten Washington’s betrayals. And it will show in 2016. As one of the most powerful and recognizable voices on talk radio today, Dana Loesch is leading a revolution of America’s new Silent Majority.

    Available Formats: Download

    Flyover Nation

    7.2 hrs • 6/21/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  11. 8.8 hrs • 6/21/2016 • Unabridged

    Timed for the critical presidential election season, New York Times bestselling author and noted political commentator Dick Morris provides a strategy and position on the issues for Republicans to attract crucial new voters to the party in order to win back the White House in 2016 and put an end to the Obama agenda of ruinous socialism. By using new issues, attracting new voters, and offering new alternatives, Republicans can win the election of 2016 and save America.

    Available Formats: Download

    Armageddon

    8.8 hrs • 6/21/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  12. 7.3 hrs • 5/17/2016 • Unabridged
    Available Formats: Download

    Broken But Unbowed

    7.3 hrs • 5/17/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  13. 0 reviews 0 5 3 3 out of 5 stars 3/5
    10.2 hrs • 5/10/2016 • Unabridged

    The world’s leading intellectual offers a probing examination of the waning American Century, the nature of US policies post-9/11, and the perils of valuing power above democracy and human rights. In an incisive, thorough analysis of the current international situation, Noam Chomsky argues that the United States, through its military-first policies and its unstinting devotion to maintaining a world-spanning empire, is both risking catastrophe and wrecking the global commons. Drawing on a wide range of examples, from the expanding drone assassination program to the threat of nuclear warfare, as well as the flash points of Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, and Israel/Palestine, he offers unexpected and nuanced insights into the workings of imperial power on our increasingly chaotic planet. In the process, Chomsky provides a brilliant anatomy of just how US elites have grown ever more insulated from any democratic constraints on their power. While the broader population is lulled into apathy diverted to consumerism or hatred of the vulnerable, the corporations and the rich have increasingly been allowed to do as they please. Fierce, unsparing, and meticulously documented, Who Rules the World? delivers the indispensable understanding of the central conflicts and dangers of our time that we have come to expect from Chomsky.

    Available Formats: Download

    Who Rules the World?

    10.2 hrs • 5/10/16 • Unabridged
    0 reviews 0 5 3 3 out of 5 stars 3/5
    Download
  14. 7.6 hrs • 1/26/2016 • Unabridged

    From a leading voice among young conservatives comes an impassioned argument that, to stay relevant, the Republican Party must look beyond short-term electoral gains and recommit to historic conservative values. In 1963, Richard Hofstadter published his landmark book Anti-intellectualism in American Life. Today, Matt Lewis argues, America’s inclination toward simplicity and stupidity is stronger than ever, and its greatest victim is the Republican Party. Lewis, a respected conservative columnist and frequent guest on MSNBC’s Morning Joe, eviscerates the phenomenon of candidates with a “no experience required” mentality and Tea Party “patriots” who possess bluster but few core beliefs. Lewis traces the conservative movement’s roots, from Edmund Burke to William F. Buckley, and from Goldwater’s loss to Reagan’s landslide victory. He highlights visionary thinkers who understood nuance and deep ideology and changed the course of the nation. As we approach the 2016 presidential election, Lewis has an urgent message for fellow conservatives: embrace wisdom, humility, qualifications, and inclusion—or face extinction.

    Available Formats: Download, CD

    Too Dumb to Fail

    7.6 hrs • 1/26/16 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD
  15. 1.7 hrs • 1/5/2016 • Unabridged

    An impassioned defense of the freedom of speech, from Stéphane Charbonnier, a journalist murdered for his convictions On January 7, 2015, two gunmen stormed the offices of the French satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo. They took the lives of twelve men and women, but they called for one man by name: “Charb.” Known by his pen name, Stéphane Charbonnier was editor-in-chief of Charlie Hebdo, an outspoken critic of religious fundamentalism, and a renowned political cartoonist in his own right. In the past, he had received death threats and had even earned a place on Al Qaeda’s “Most Wanted List.” On January 7 it seemed that Charb’s enemies had finally succeeded in silencing him. But in a twist of fate befitting Charb’s defiant nature, it was soon revealed that he had finished a book just two days before his murder on the very issues at the heart of the attacks: blasphemy, Islamophobia, and the necessary courage of satirists. Here, published for the first time in English, is Charb’s final work. A searing criticism of hypocrisy and racism, and a rousing, eloquent defense of free speech, Open Letter shows Charb’s words to be as powerful and provocative as his art. This is an essential book about race, religion, the voice of ethnic minorities and majorities in a pluralistic society, and above all, the right to free expression and the surprising challenges being leveled at it in our fraught and dangerous time.

    Available Formats: Download

    Open Letter

    Foreword by Adam Gopnik
    Read by Dean Olsher
    1.7 hrs • 1/5/16 • Unabridged
    Download
  16. 11.0 hrs • 11/17/2015 • Unabridged

    The influential conservative commentator, filmmaker, and #1 bestselling author of America: Imagine a World without Her and Obama’s America—the basis for two successful documentaries—defends conservatism’s morality and exposes how the left excuses its own failings and uses false virtue to gain political advantage. Progressives define Conservatives as greedy, selfish, and warmongering. Democratic politicians including President Obama, Nancy Pelosi, Hillary Clinton, and Elizabeth Warren, as well as pundits such as Frank Rich and Paul Krugman, regularly inveigh against capitalism’s “ethic of greed” and the Republicans’ championing of the rich. In Stealing America, Dinesh D’Souza refutes widely accepted progressive pronouncements, arguing that those on the right are not bad guys, and their policies are not harmful to Americans or their future. The actual villains, he charges, are the progressives whose true motivations—a volatile combination of envy and resentment—are camouflaged as compassion and a desire for social justice. By vindicating conservative morality and exposing progressive immorality, D’Souza is sure to provoke a national debate. More importantly, Stealing America offers a lively rebuttal Republicans and conservatives can use to answer their critics in a fresh and convincing way.

    Available Formats: Download, CD

    Stealing America

    11.0 hrs • 11/17/15 • Unabridged
    Download
    Also: CD
Loading more titles...
See More Titles Loading More Titles ... Back To Top
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions