9 Results for:

Religion

  • Sort by:
  • Best Selling
Results: 1 – 9 of 9
  1. 10.4 hrs • 4/30/2013 • Unabridged
    Available Formats: Download

    50 Spiritual Classics

    10.4 hrs • 4/30/13 • Unabridged
    Download
  2. 0 reviews 0 5 5 5 out of 5 stars 5/5
    13.4 hrs • 3/19/2013 • Unabridged

    A Dream So Big is the story of Steve Peifer, a corporate manager who once oversaw 9,000 computer software consultants, who today helps provide daily lunches for over 20,000 Kenyan school children in thirty-five national public schools, and maintains solar-powered computer labs at twenty rural African schools. Steve and his wife, Nancy, were enjoying a successful management career with one of America’s high tech corporate giants during the dot-com boom of the 1990’s when, in 1997, he and his wife Nancy discovered they were pregnant with their third child. Tragically, doctors said a chromosomal condition left their baby “incompatible with life.” The Peifers only spent 8 days with baby Stephen before he died. Seeking to flee the pain, Steve and Nancy began a pilgrimage that thrust them into a third-world setting where daily life was often defined by tragedy—drought, disease, poverty, hunger, and death. They didn’t arrive in the service of any divine calling, but the truth of their surroundings spoke to their troubled hearts. A short-term, 12-month mission assignment as dorm parents for a Kenyan boarding school turned this ordinary man into the most unlikely internationally recognized hero, and his story will inspire you to pursue similar lives of service.

    Available Formats: Download

    A Dream So Big

    13.4 hrs • 3/19/13 • Unabridged
    0 reviews 0 5 5 5 out of 5 stars 5/5
    Download
  3. 14.9 hrs • 3/13/2012 • Unabridged

    Why is the city a battleground of hostile principalities and powers? What is the mission of the church in the city? How can the church be supported in accomplishing that mission? These are the questions that Robert Linthicum treats in his comprehensive and probing biblical theology of the city. In the Bible the city is depicted both as a dwelling place of God and his people and as a center of power for Satan and his minions. The city is one primary stage on which the drama of salvation is played out. And that is no less the case at the end of this pivotal century as megacities become the focal point of most human activity and aspirations around the world. This is a timely theology of the city that weaves the theological images of the Bible and the social realities of the contemporary world into a revealing tapestry of truths about the urban experience. Its purpose is to define clearly the mission of the church in the midst of the urban realities and to support well the work of the church in the urban world.

    Available Formats: Download

    City of God, City of Satan

    14.9 hrs • 3/13/12 • Unabridged
    Download
  4. 15.1 hrs • 10/4/2011 • Unabridged

    Gary Thomas is a popular writer of Christian spirituality with a well-developed platform. Building on his bestselling books Sacred Pathways and Sacred Marriage; his newest book, Pure Pleasure; and his Gold Medallion-winning Authentic Faith, Thomas takes readers to new levels of inspiration and insight in Simply Sacred—a devotional made up of selections from his best writings about spirituality and spiritual formation. According to Thomas, “Those who have advanced in the Christian life have learned to develop an almost mystical memory that keeps them attuned to the fact that God is always with them … always watching, always caring, always hearing.” Abounding with spiritual insights and practical truth, this book provides readers with the freedom to approach life in Christ with new wonder and joy each and every day.

    Available Formats: Download

    Simply Sacred

    By Gary Thomas
    Read by Adam Verner
    15.1 hrs • 10/4/11 • Unabridged
    Download
  5. 15.6 hrs • 3/15/2011 • Unabridged

    How should Christians live their faith in the public arena? Twenty years ago, the first edition of Chuck Colson’s Kingdoms in Conflict became a bestseller, a must-read for people interested in politics and the relationship between church and state. Now, with a passion for truth and moved by the urgency of the times we live in, Colson has written God and Government, revoicing his powerful and enduring message for our post-9/11 world. In an era when Christianity is being attacked from every side—books being written charging Christians with being theocrats and trying to impose their views on an unwilling culture—what is the message of the Christian church? What does the Bible say, and what do we learn from history about the proper relationship between faith and culture? Appealing to scripture, reason, and history, this book tackles society’s most pressing and divisive issues. New stories and examples reflect the realities of today, from the clash with radical Islam to the deep division between “reds” and “blues.” In an era of angry finger pointing, Colson furnishes a unique insider’s perspective that can’t be pigeonholed as either “religious right” or “religious left.” Whatever your political or religious stance, this book will give you a different understanding of Christianity. If you’re a Christian, it will help you to both examine and defend your faith. If you’ve been critical of the new religious right, you’ll be shocked at what you learn. Probing both secular and religious values, God and Government critiques each fairly, sides with neither, and offers a hopeful, fair-minded perspective that is sorely needed in today’s hypercharged atmosphere.

    Available Formats: Download

    God and Government

    By Charles W. Colson
    15.6 hrs • 3/15/11 • Unabridged
    Download
  6. 13.6 hrs • 11/23/2010 • Unabridged

    "This book presents a biblical theology of discipleship that gives the “big picture” of God’s relationship with humanity. It surveys God’s interaction with humankind from Eden, through the sequence of the biblical covenants, and on into the fulfillment that comes in Jesus. Throughout, the twin themes emerge—one of God’s demand of righteousness and another of his prior, enabling grace. Discipleship to Jesus stands in relation to its Old Testament precedents, preserving continuity in the grace/demand interplay. Jesus’ ministry to Israel is the fulfillment of the interactions between God and his people, assuming the roles of righteous King and gracious Servant. Faithful discipleship to Jesus the King, therefore, must always involve responding to his bracing call for righteousness, but doing so in the ongoing experience of the Servant’s prior, enabling grace. This book provides an understanding of Jesus that will facilitate ongoing experiences of transforming grace, which in turn will enable faithful discipleship. As such, it presents a view of Christian discipleship that is grounded in an informed Christology of Jesus, the Servant King."

    Available Formats: Download

    Following Jesus, the Servant King

    13.6 hrs • 11/23/10 • Unabridged
    Download
  7. 14.3 hrs • 9/7/2010 • Unabridged

    Chris Wright’s pioneering 2006 book, The Mission of God, revealed that the typical Christian understanding of “missions” encompasses only a small part of God’s overarching mission for the world. God is relentlessly reclaiming the entire world for himself. In The Mission of God’s People, Wright shows how God’s big-picture plan directs the purpose of God’s people, the church. Wright emphasizes what the Old Testament teaches Christians about being the people of God. He addresses questions of both ecclesiology and missiology with topics like “called to care for creation,” “called to bless the nations,” “sending and being sent,” and “rejecting false gods.” As part of the Biblical Theology for Life Series, this book provides pastors, teachers, and lay learners with first-rate biblical study while at the same time addressing the practical concerns of contemporary ministry. The Mission of God’s People promises to enliven and refocus the study, teaching, and ministry of those truly committed to joining God’s work in the world.

    Available Formats: Download

    The Mission of God's People

    Edited by Jonathan Lunde
    14.3 hrs • 9/7/10 • Unabridged
    Download
  8. 15.1 hrs • 1/26/2010 • Unabridged

    Joni Eareckson Tada wants to help you become rich in faith and wealthy in hope. Some people focus on material treasures, but Joni reminds you that life’s true gems come from God—priceless pearls that are worth everything to purchase … and own. In the tradition of Diamonds in the Dust and More Precious Than Silver comes this book, Pearls of Great Price. Written by a remarkable woman who has known firsthand God’s faithfulness in the midst of indescribable difficulties, these 366 inspiring new devotions, each filled with Joni’s signature storytelling, will touch your soul like a genuine pearl—rare, beautiful, and precious. To wake up each morning is, for Joni, to need the Lord Jesus desperately and to feel his blessing. And she yearns to help you grasp this blessing for yourself. Not a day breaks when she doesn’t cling to God, asking for a fresh touch from heaven as well as a fresh view on his Word. It’s the reason for her life. It’s the reason why she writes. Pearls of Great Price so clearly depicts Joni’s passion. Allow these 366 meditations to uncover a wealth of promise, of eternal truths waiting to transform the events of your life into opportunities to catch and reflect God’s glory. Featuring Joni’s own beautiful line drawings, Pearls of Great Price will open your eyes and your heart to an abundance of blessings.

    Available Formats: Download

    Pearls of Great Price

    15.1 hrs • 1/26/10 • Unabridged
    Download
  9. 14.9 hrs • 9/1/2009 • Abridged

    In the first edition of The Mormon Mirage, Latayne C. Scott shared her remarkable journey out of Mormonism as she uncovered shocking inaccuracies, inconsistencies, and contradictions in the faith she had loved and lived. Thirty years later, Mormonism and Mormon scholarship have evolved with the times. In this third, revised and updated edition of her well-known book, Scott keeps pace with changes and advances in Mormonism, and reveals formidable new challenges to its claims and teachings. The Mormon Mirage provides fascinating, carefully documented insights into • DNA research’s withering implications for the Book of Mormon • the impact of new “revelations” on Latter-day Saint (LDS) race relations • new findings about Mormon history • increasing publicity about LDS splinter groups, particularly polygamous ones • recent disavowals of long-held doctrines by church leadership • the rise of Mormon apologetics on the Internet More than a riveting, insider’s scrutiny of the Mormon faith, this book is a testimony to the trustworthiness of Scripture and the grace of Jesus Christ.

    Available Formats: Download

    The Mormon Mirage

    14.9 hrs • 9/1/09 • Abridged
    Download
Loading more titles...
See More Titles Loading More Titles ... Back To Top
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions