Song of the Lion

Available on April 11, 2017

Available on April 11, 2017

Available on April 11, 2017

A deadly bombing takes Navajo Tribal cops Bernadette Manuelito, Jim Chee, and their mentor, the legendary Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn, back into the past to find a vengeful killer in this riveting Southwestern mystery from the bestselling author of Spider Woman’s Daughter and Rock with Wings.

When a car bomb kills a young man in the Shiprock High School parking lot, Officer Bernadette Manuelito discovers that the intended victim was a mediator for a multi-million-dollar development planned at the Grand Canyon.

But what seems like an act of ecoterrorism turns out to be something far more nefarious and complex. Piecing together the clues, Bernadette and her husband, Sergeant Jim Chee, uncover a scheme to disrupt the negotiations and inflame tensions between the Hopi and Dine tribes.

Retired Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn has seen just about everything in his long career. As the tribal police’s investigation unfolds, he begins to suspect that the bombing may be linked to a cold case he handled years ago. As he, Bernadette, and Chee carefully pull away the layers behind the crime, they make a disturbing discovery: a meticulous and very patient killer with a long-simmering plan of revenge.

Writing with a clarity and grace that is all her own, Anne Hillerman depicts the beauty and mystery of Navajo Country and the rituals, myths, and customs of its people in a mystery that builds on and complements the beloved, bestselling mysteries of her acclaimed father, Tony Hillerman.

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of Leaphorn, Chee, and Manuelito will savor this multilayered story of suspense, with its background of contemporary environmental versus developmental issues.”

Library Journal

Author Biography

Anne Hillerman is an award-winning reporter, author of several nonfiction books, and the author of New York Times bestselling novels Spider Woman’s Daughter and Rock with Wings. She is the daughter of New York Times bestselling author Tony Hillerman.

Titles by Author > See all

Reader Biography

Christina Delaine has trod many boards, including the ones at the Public Theater, Trinity Repertory Company, Actors Theater of Louisville, Ensemble Studio Theater, and Peterborough Players. Her favorite gigs include Jewtopia and the title role in Antigone at both Portland Center Stage and the Kentucky Repertory Theater. She holds a BA from Dartmouth College and an MFA in acting from Brown University.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions