The 33:

Deep Down Dark: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine, and the Miracle That Set Them Free

  • Read by: Henry Leyva
  • Runtime: 13.4 Hours
  • Recording: Unabridged
  • Release date: 10.13.2015
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio
  • Genre: Nonfiction/History
  • 13.37 hrs10/13/2015Unabridged
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-4272-7155-6

When the San José mine collapsed outside of Copiapó, Chile, in August 2010, it trapped thirty-three miners beneath thousands of feet of rock for a record-breaking sixty-nine days. After the disaster, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Héctor Tobar received exclusive access to the miners and their tales, and in The 33, he brings them to haunting, visceral life. We learn what it was like to be imprisoned inside a mountain, understand the horror of being slowly consumed by hunger, and experience the awe of working in such a place—underground passages filled with danger and that often felt alive. A masterwork of narrative journalism and a stirring testament to the power of the human spirit, The 33 captures the profound ways in which the lives of the Chilean miners and everyone involved in the catastrophe were forever changed.

Editorial Reviews

“My favorite book of the year. Perfect for fans of Unbroken.”

People

“An account that brims with emotion and strength.”

USA Today

Film Trailer

Film Trailer

Reader Biography

Henry Leyva, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a classically trained actor with extensive work in theater, television, film, and radio. He has appeared off Broadway and in regional theaters across the country in many plays, including Romeo and Juliet, Taming of the Shrew, and Street Car Named Desire. He has also performed in audio dramas for the Syfy Channel and National Public Radio.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Trailer
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions