Those Who Wish Me Dead

  • Runtime: 10.5 Hours
  • Recording: Unabridged
  • Release date: 6.3.2014
  • Publisher: Hachette Book Group
  • Genre: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
  • 10.52 hrs6/3/2014Unabridged
  • ISBN-13: 978-1-4789-0146-4

A Reader’s Digest Pick of 13 Best Thrillers to Read Right Now

Winner of the 2015 Barry Award for Best Thriller

Winner of the 2015 Audie Award for Best Thriller/Suspense Narration

Winner of a 2015 YALSA Alex Awardfor the 10 Best Adult Books That Appeal to Teen Audiences

One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2014

On Oprah’s Summer Reading List, 2014

When fourteen-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he’s plunged into a new life, issued a false identity, and hidden in a wilderness-skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare.

The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness-survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains.

The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind.

Editorial Reviews

“Outstanding in every way…Don’t you dare miss it.”

Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Warning: Michael Koryta’s wonderful, riveting, and harrowing Those Who Wish Me Dead may just move you to tears. Enjoy at your own risk.”

Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Absolutely breathtaking, nail-biting, and edge-of-your-seat…[and] one of the best chase-and-escape novels you’ll read this year.”

Nelson DeMille, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“ More than just an edge-of-your-seat, adrenaline-fueled story…[it’s] a smart, surprising, and emotionally engaging experience that simply does not let up. Ever!”

Christopher Reich, New York Times bestselling author

“[A] pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat, unputdownable thriller.”

Reader’s Digest

“A heart-thumping backwoods adventure.”

New York Times Book Review

“More than outstanding, this book will have you jumping from one chapter to another…This is excellent and one I recommend. Absolutely without a doubt.”

Suspense Magazine

“Koryta, a widely praised veteran of cross-genre tales, has upped his game with this stand-alone’s seamless blend of western-wilderness thriller and mainstream crime fiction, with a prickly dab of horror…A must-read for fans of C. J. Box and Nevada Barr.”

Booklist (starred review)

“Summer reading doesn’t get better than this.”

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Robert Petkoff flexes his considerable vocal talents in this thriller…The suspense is almost unbearable, and Petkoff’s timing never falters…Petkoff draws listeners into this thrilling story of survival and doesn’t let go.”

AudioFile

“Michael Koryta is that rare author who is at once a compelling story teller and a fantastic writer…This is an absolute sizzler.”

Lisa Unger, author of Beautiful Lies

“This is a smart big book with what are called twists and turns but which are really terrific surprises in every deepening layer. Young Jace’s journey to survive is a gripping rush.”

Ron Carlson, author of The Signal

Author Biography

Michael Koryta is the New York Times bestselling author of ten novels, most recently Those Who Wish Me Dead. His previous novels—including The Prophet, The Ridge, and So Cold The River—were New York Times Notable Books, national bestsellers, and have been nominated for numerous awards, including having won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. A former private investigator and newspaper reporter, Koryta graduated from Indiana University with a degree in criminal justice. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and Bloomington, Indiana.

Titles by Author > See all

Reader Biography

Robert Petkoff has appeared on Chappelle’s Show, Law & Order, and Quantum Leap. His Broadway credits include Sir Robin in Spamalot, Perchik in Fiddler on the Roof, and Tateh in Ragtime. His audiobook narrations have won multiple Audiofile Earphones Awards as well as a coveted Audie Award.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions