Where the Evidence Lies

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Lincoln Rhyme series, a short story about Lincoln Rhyme solving a mysterious plane crash with no forensic evidence.

A small jet with only the pilot on-board crashes into the Atlantic Ocean. Local authorities are unsure whether the cause of the crash is a bomb or a violent storm. The case seems like it will be an easy one to solve for former NYPD homicide detective Lincoln Rhyme to solve. The evidence is inside the cockpit but there is one problem. The wreckage sits at the bottom of the Puerto Rican Trench, the deepest part of the Atlantic Ocean that stretches to twenty-eight thousand feet. The plane can’t be raised. And there’s no way to get to where the evidence lies.

“Where the Evidence Lies” by Jeffery Deaver is one of twenty short stories within Mulholland Books’s Strand Originals series, featuring thrilling stories by the biggest names in mystery from the Strand magazine archives. View the full series list at mulhollandbooks.com and read them all!

Editorial Reviews

“Jeffery Deaver’s short story in Mulholland Books’s Strand Originals series features his forensics specialist, Lincoln Rhyme. Deaver creates a crime with no physical evidence for his series hero: A plane crashes, leaving its remains sitting on the bottom of the Atlantic. Rhyme has to determine if the crash was the result of a storm or a bomb. Deaver’s plot is engaging and mysterious..[Where] narrator Allan Robertson…shines in this hour-long audiobook is in the sensory development of the detailed setting. Listeners need not be familiar with the Rhyme series to enjoy this short audiobook.”


Author Biography

Jeffery Deaver is an award-winning and New York Times bestselling author of mystery and crime novels. His novels have won the Nero Wolfe Award, three Ellery Queen Readers’ Awards, a British Thumping Good Read Award, and the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger and Short Story Dagger awards from the British Crime Writers’ Association. His The Bodies Left Behind was named Novel of the Year by the International Thriller Writers Association. The Cold Moon was named the Book of the Year by the Mystery Writers Association of Japan, as well as by Kono Mystery Wa Sugoi magazine. The Japanese Adventure Fiction Association awarded The Cold Moon and Carte Blanche their annual Grand Prix award. His novels have hit bestsellers lists around the world, including the New York Times, London Times, Los Angeles Times, the Milan Corriere della Sera, and Sydney Morning Herald. He received his BA in journalism from the University of Missouri and has a law degree from Fordham University. Since becoming a full-time writer in 1990, he has written over thirty-five books. Some of his novels have been made into films, including The Bone Collector starring Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie.

Titles by Author > See all

Reader Biography

Allan Robertson is an audiobook narrator whose readings include Tesla by W. Bernard Carlson, The Aftershock Investor by David Wiedemer, and The End of the Story by Clark Ashton Smith.

Titles by Reader > See all

  • Summary
  • Reviews
  • Editorial Reviews
  • Related
  • Author Biography
  • Reader Biography
Digital Audiobooks With Zero Restrictions