A Cry in the Night by Kerry Wilkinson audiobook

A Cry in the Night

By Kerry Wilkinson
Read by Becky Hindley

Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio 9780957016453

The Jessica Daniel Series: Book 15

9.18 Hours 1
Format : CD (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $22.74

    ISBN: 9781713578482

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

'Mom?' The word caught in the boy's throat. She didn't try to speak, didn't roll towards him. She didn't move at all.  In the middle of the night, 14-year-old Samuel is woken by the sound of a terrified scream from the kitchen of his home on a quiet street. The police - finding him sobbing on the kitchen floor, cradling his mother's lifeless body - hit a dead end before the investigation has even begun: because although he witnessed the murder, Samuel is blind.  But when Detective Jessica Daniel meets the boy, the way he uses just his sense of sound to accurately locate her hand to shake it convinces her that this clever young teenager could hold the key to the entire case. Her team disagree, but Jessica will do whatever it takes to get justice for the innocent.  Samuel's description of an intruder he heard walking with a limp leads Jessica to an isolated seaside town, where a well-liked local man has been missing for days. Breaking into his house, Jessica finds him lying flat on the bed, a bullet wound under his chin.  Digging into the victim's work records, Jessica uncovers a secret he shared with Samuel's mother and it's clear she was terrified for her son's safety. As Jessica pushes the boundaries to get closer to the truth, her most trusted colleague warns that she needs to watch her step...but Jessica won't stop until she's found the killer. Her career may be on the line, but so is Samuel's life.  An absolutely enthralling thriller, packed with twists and turns, perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Rachel Caine and Kendra Elliot.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

'Mom?' The word caught in the boy's throat. She didn't try to speak, didn't roll towards him. She didn't move at all. 

In the middle of the night, 14-year-old Samuel is woken by the sound of a terrified scream from the kitchen of his home on a quiet street. The police - finding him sobbing on the kitchen floor, cradling his mother's lifeless body - hit a dead end before the investigation has even begun: because although he witnessed the murder, Samuel is blind. 

But when Detective Jessica Daniel meets the boy, the way he uses just his sense of sound to accurately locate her hand to shake it convinces her that this clever young teenager could hold the key to the entire case. Her team disagree, but Jessica will do whatever it takes to get justice for the innocent. 

Samuel's description of an intruder he heard walking with a limp leads Jessica to an isolated seaside town, where a well-liked local man has been missing for days. Breaking into his house, Jessica finds him lying flat on the bed, a bullet wound under his chin. 

Digging into the victim's work records, Jessica uncovers a secret he shared with Samuel's mother and it's clear she was terrified for her son's safety. As Jessica pushes the boundaries to get closer to the truth, her most trusted colleague warns that she needs to watch her step...but Jessica won't stop until she's found the killer. Her career may be on the line, but so is Samuel's life. 

An absolutely enthralling thriller, packed with twists and turns, perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Rachel Caine and Kendra Elliot.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kerry Wilkinson

Author Bio: Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson is the author of several #1 crime bestsellers in the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, South Africa, and Singapore. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States. His book, Ten Birthdays, won the RNA award for Young Adult Novel of the Year in 2018, and Close to You won the International Thriller Award for best ebook in 2020. As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, he has written the Silver Blackthorn YA fantasy trilogy and a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous stand-alone novels. His book have been published world wide in more than a dozen languages.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.18
Audience: Adult
Language: English