A Flicker of Courage by Deb Caletti audiobook

A Flicker of Courage

By Deb Caletti
Read by Kristen Sieh

Listening Library (Audio)

The Tales of Triumph and Disaster! Series: Book 1

5.36 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780593155868

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Printz Award Honoree and National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti debuts in middle grade with a tongue-in-cheek hero's journey set in a town full of magic, mayhem, lighthouses... and evil. The story takes place in a world much like ours, but at the same time not at all like ours, in which Vlad Luxor--a capricious, vain, infantile tyrant--rules over a town with an iron fist. He's an emperor with no clothes, but woe is the person who points that out--they could wind up turned into a squirrel or lizard or who knows what! For in this world, the evil leader also has magic, which he uses to punish anyone who speaks out against him. But in every classic tale with a despicable villain, there must also be a truly noble hero--in this case, four of them! Henry, Apollo, Pirate Girl, and JoJo must be their most brave and clever to break the spell Vlad Luxor has cast on Apollo's brother, Rocco. For we can't have Rocco remain a naked lizard for the rest of his life, now can we?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Printz Award Honoree and National Book Award finalist Deb Caletti debuts in middle grade with a tongue-in-cheek hero's journey set in a town full of magic, mayhem, lighthouses... and evil.

The story takes place in a world much like ours, but at the same time not at all like ours, in which Vlad Luxor--a capricious, vain, infantile tyrant--rules over a town with an iron fist. He's an emperor with no clothes, but woe is the person who points that out--they could wind up turned into a squirrel or lizard or who knows what! For in this world, the evil leader also has magic, which he uses to punish anyone who speaks out against him.

But in every classic tale with a despicable villain, there must also be a truly noble hero--in this case, four of them! Henry, Apollo, Pirate Girl, and JoJo must be their most brave and clever to break the spell Vlad Luxor has cast on Apollo's brother, Rocco. For we can't have Rocco remain a naked lizard for the rest of his life, now can we?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

[A] tongue-in-cheek middle-grade fantasy, [which] fans of the genre will enjoy [as the] sympathetic protagonist who, after years of self-doubt, is thrust into the role of hero. Booklist
The hopeful tone [of this conversational series starter] is encouraging, and the focus on the power of knowledge and books may lead readers back to the stacks. . . This magical adventure is a good fit for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven and Karuna Riazi’s The Gauntlet. School Library Journal
[T]his fast-paced middle grade debut from YA author Caletti (A Heart in a Body in the World) offers an allegorical message about activism and cooperation. Publishers Weekly
The breathless plot . . is rich in riddle-solving, cliffhangers, hiding from bad guys, lock-picking, near-death experiences, riding bikes really fast, and comedy . . . [with] an original, deadpan touch that keeps the tone buoyant in this exhilarating, often poignant adventure. The Horn Book Magazine

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Deb Caletti

Author Bio: Deb Caletti

Deb Caletti is an award-winning author and a National Book Award finalist whose books include He’s Gone; Honey, Baby, Sweetheart; The Queen of Everything; and The Secret Life of Prince Charming. Her books are published and translated worldwide. She lives with her family in Seattle.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 5.36
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English