A Psalm for Lost Girls

By  Katherine Bayerl
Read by Saskia Maarleveld , Kyla Garcia , and Julia Whelan

10.46 Hours 03/14/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $27.50

    Special Price $24.75

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781524750138

  • $55.00

    ISBN: 9781524750121

I’ll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA novel about saints, sisters, and learning to let go. Tess da Costa is a saint—a hand-to-god, miracle-producing saint. At least that’s what the people in her hometown of New Avon, Massachusetts, seem to believe. And when Tess suddenly and tragically passes away, her small city begins feverishly petitioning the pope to make Tess’s sainthood official. Tess’s mother is ecstatic over the fervor, while her sister Callie, the one who knew Tess best, is disgusted—overcome with the feeling that her sister is being stolen from her all over again. The fervor for Tess’ sainthood only grows when Ana Langone, a local girl missing for six months, is found alive at the foot of one of Tess’ shrines. It’s the final straw for Callie. With the help of Tess’ secret boyfriend Danny, Callie is determined to prove that Tess was something far more important than a saint: she was her sister, her best friend and a girl in love with a boy. But Callie’s investigation uncovers much more than she bargained for—a hidden diary, old family secrets, and even the disturbing truth behind Ana’s kidnapping. Told in alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once funny, creepy and soulful.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Barnes & Noble Most Anticipated Book of 2017

Amazon Editor’s Top Pick for Best YA Books for Spring 2017

Bustle Pick for YA Debuts

I’ll Give You the Sun meets True Detective in this brilliant YA novel about saints, sisters, and learning to let go.

Tess da Costa is a saint—a hand-to-god, miracle-producing saint. At least that’s what the people in her hometown of New Avon, Massachusetts, seem to believe. And when Tess suddenly and tragically passes away, her small city begins feverishly petitioning the pope to make Tess’s sainthood official. Tess’s mother is ecstatic over the fervor, while her sister Callie, the one who knew Tess best, is disgusted—overcome with the feeling that her sister is being stolen from her all over again.

The fervor for Tess’ sainthood only grows when Ana Langone, a local girl missing for six months, is found alive at the foot of one of Tess’ shrines. It’s the final straw for Callie. With the help of Tess’ secret boyfriend Danny, Callie is determined to prove that Tess was something far more important than a saint: she was her sister, her best friend and a girl in love with a boy. But Callie’s investigation uncovers much more than she bargained for—a hidden diary, old family secrets, and even the disturbing truth behind Ana’s kidnapping.

Told in alternating perspectives, A Psalm for Lost Girls is at once funny, creepy and soulful.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of realistic fiction, mystery, or crime thrillers will find themselves at home in this spectacular debut…A compelling must-have for YA collections.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“[A] gripping story of loss and grace…Richly and evocatively written, Bayerl’s story is ideal for fans of Jandy Nelson and Melina Marchetta.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Narrators Saskia Maarleveld, Julia Whelan, and Kyla Garcia bring to life a teenager’s journey to discover if her dead sister is truly the miracle-making modern-day saint everyone believes her to be. Maarleveld handles the bulk of the performance; her cool, casual voice is a perfect fit for the grieving Callie da Costa as she tangles with the death of her saintly sister, Tess. Garcia gives a bright and hopeful performance of Tess through the diary she left behind. Whelan ties it all together as she narrates the story of a missing child whose reappearance could be Tess’ posthumously sanctified miracle. The trio provides a performance that will awaken, or reawaken, listeners to the possibility of miracles.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Author

Author Bio: Katie Bayerl

When Katie Bayerl isn’t penning stories, she coaches teens and nonprofits to tell theirs. She earned an MFA degree in writing for children and young adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts and has taught creative writing in schools and a variety of community settings.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.46
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Edition: English