Abandoned by Anne Kim audiobook

Abandoned: America's Lost Youth and the Crisis of Disconnection

By Anne Kim
Read by Janet Song

Brilliance Audio 9781620975008
6.89 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $35.99

    Special Price $23.39

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781799744856

  • Regular Price: $35.99

    Special Price $18.00

    ISBN: 9781799744863

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A deeply affecting exposé of America’s hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But nearly five million young people—or a stunning 11.7 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four—experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams. Journalist Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness—including new research from the field of adolescent brain science—that “emerging adulthood” is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency. A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A deeply affecting exposé of America’s hidden crisis of disconnected youth, in the tradition of Matthew Desmond and Adrian Nicole LeBlanc

For the majority of young adults today, the transition to independence is a time of excitement and possibility. But nearly five million young people—or a stunning 11.7 percent of youth aged sixteen to twenty-four—experience entry into adulthood as abrupt abandonment, a time of disconnection from school, work, and family. For this growing population of Americans, which includes kids aging out of foster care and those entangled with the justice system, life screeches to a halt when adulthood arrives. Abandoned is the first-ever exploration of this tale of dead ends and broken dreams.

Journalist Anne Kim skillfully weaves heart-rending stories of young people navigating early adulthood alone, in communities where poverty is endemic and opportunities almost nonexistent. She then describes a growing awareness—including new research from the field of adolescent brain science—that “emerging adulthood” is just as crucial a developmental period as early childhood, and she profiles an array of unheralded programs that provide young people with the supports they need to achieve self-sufficiency.

A major work of deeply reported narrative nonfiction, Abandoned joins the small shelf of books that change the way we see our society and point to a different path forward.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A remarkably important book.” Washington Monthly
“Quietly powerful.” Kirkus Review (starred review)
“This comprehensive overview…offers proven solutions and concrete policy recommendations.” Shelf Awareness (starred review)
“Janet Song’s deliberate yet expressive voice resonates as she narrates Kim’s eye-opening and heartbreaking examination…She keeps a good inflective balance as she swings from sharing statistics to quoting youths…Her delivery syncs well with Kim’s prose, making for an audiobook that doubles its impact on listeners.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Anne Kim

Author Bio: Anne Kim

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Social Science
Runtime: 6.89
Audience: Adult
Language: English