All Men of Genius by Lev AC Rosen audiobook

All Men of Genius

By Lev AC Rosen
Read by Emily Gray

Recorded Books, Inc.

The All Men of Genius Series: Book 1

16.95 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781464045684

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Set in a steampunk version of Victorian England, Lev AC Rosen's acclaimed debut novel All Men of Genius follows the fantastical adventures of Violet Adams. Determined to attend the prestigious Illyria College, Violet gains entrance by masquerading as her twin brother Ashton. But continuing the scheme turns out to be difficult-especially when "Ashton" is faced with blackmail, killer automata, and possible romance with a young duke.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2013 Audie Award Finalist for Fantasy

Set in a steampunk version of Victorian England, Lev AC Rosen's acclaimed debut novel All Men of Genius follows the fantastical adventures of Violet Adams. Determined to attend the prestigious Illyria College, Violet gains entrance by masquerading as her twin brother Ashton. But continuing the scheme turns out to be difficult-especially when "Ashton" is faced with blackmail, killer automata, and possible romance with a young duke.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

With All Men of Genius, Lev Rosen has constructed a wondrously vivid and dreamlike new world, both utterly original and mysteriously familiar. He writes with great wit, verve, and tenderness, and he is, without a doubt, one of the most exciting and talented young writers of his generation.” Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Await Your Reply
All Men of Genius is a true steampunk novel, a romance, a mystery, and a fun romp through an alternative Victorian England…a fast-moving, joyful experience that will leave the reader thoroughly satisfied.” Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“[Rosen] mixes genres with fearless panache.” Locus
“A charming and fast-paced debut…Fans of Shakespeare and Wilde will delight in the transformation of the source material into something wholly original.” RT Book Reviews
“This sideways retelling Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night is a fun, witty tale, with characters you wish you could befriend and drink with at a dingy London pub.” Ed Lazallari, author of Awakenings
All Men of Genius is utterly charming. A large ensemble cast revolves around the central character, Violet Adams, as smoothly as gears in a precision clock. Like the best steampunk, it feels as though it were written in a much older time. Witty, dashing, and a little bit dangerous.” Mary Robinette Kowal, author of Shades of Milk and Honey
“A lighthearted debut... Decommissioned robots, mysterious mechanisms, strange squid creatures, blackmail, and a number of vivid characters add up to a great deal of fun.” Publishers Weekly
“[Emily] Gray narrates with a combination of energy, intelligence, and sweetness to bring this clever examination of nineteenth-century gender roles, class, and culture to life.” AudioFile
“This tale of cross dressing, science, romance, and rampaging automatons, complete with a host of quirky professors that may remind readers of those in the Harry Potter series, will delight teen readers...A brilliantly fun novel.” School Library Journal
“Rosen writes with color and verve, particularly in his descriptions of mechanical marvels, and also offers moments of unexpected poignancy, such as the sad history of Cecily’s governess Miriam, whose characterization far exceeds the depth of her initial inspirations, Earnest’s ditzy Miss Prism, and Twelfth Night’s comic maid Maria” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lev AC Rosen

Author Bio: Lev AC Rosen

Lev AC Rosen is the author of the critically acclaimed adult novels All Men of Genius and Depth, as well as the middle-grade novels Woundabout and The Memory Wall. He received his BA from Oberlin College and his MFA in creative writing from Sarah Lawrence College. He lives in lower Manhattan with his husband and a very small cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 16.95
Audience: Adult
Language: English