All Men of Genius

By Lev AC Rosen
Read by Emily Gray

The All Men of Genius Series: Book 1

16.95 Hours 01/01/2013 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $27.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781464045684

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Inspired by two of the most beloved works by literary masters, All Men of Genius takes place in an alternate Steampunk Victorian London, where science makes the impossible possible. Violet Adams wants to attend Illyria College, a widely renowned school for the most brilliant up-and-coming scientific minds, founded by the late Duke Illyria, the greatest scientist of the Victorian Age. The school is run by his son, Ernest, who continues his father’s policy that the small, exclusive college remain male-only. Violet sees her opportunity when her father departs for America. She disguises herself as her twin brother, Ashton, and gains entry. But keeping the secret of her sex won’t be easy, not with her friend Jack’s constant habit of pulling pranks, and especially not when the duke’s young ward, Cecily, starts to develop feelings for Violet’s alter ego. Not to mention blackmail, mysterious killer automata, and the way Violet’s pulse quickens whenever the young duke, Ernest, speaks to her. She soon realizes that it’s not just keeping her secret until the end of the year faire she has to worry about: it’s surviving that long.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2013 Audie Award Finalist for Fantasy

Inspired by two of the most beloved works by literary masters, All Men of Genius takes place in an alternate Steampunk Victorian London, where science makes the impossible possible.

Violet Adams wants to attend Illyria College, a widely renowned school for the most brilliant up-and-coming scientific minds, founded by the late Duke Illyria, the greatest scientist of the Victorian Age. The school is run by his son, Ernest, who continues his father’s policy that the small, exclusive college remain male-only. Violet sees her opportunity when her father departs for America. She disguises herself as her twin brother, Ashton, and gains entry.

But keeping the secret of her sex won’t be easy, not with her friend Jack’s constant habit of pulling pranks, and especially not when the duke’s young ward, Cecily, starts to develop feelings for Violet’s alter ego. Not to mention blackmail, mysterious killer automata, and the way Violet’s pulse quickens whenever the young duke, Ernest, speaks to her. She soon realizes that it’s not just keeping her secret until the end of the year faire she has to worry about: it’s surviving that long.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

With All Men of Genius, Lev Rosen has constructed a wondrously vivid and dreamlike new world, both utterly original and mysteriously familiar. He writes with great wit, verve, and tenderness, and he is, without a doubt, one of the most exciting and talented young writers of his generation.” Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Await Your Reply
All Men of Genius is a true steampunk novel, a romance, a mystery, and a fun romp through an alternative Victorian England…a fast-moving, joyful experience that will leave the reader thoroughly satisfied.” Seattle Post-Intelligencer
“[Rosen] mixes genres with fearless panache.” Locus
“A charming and fast-paced debut…Fans of Shakespeare and Wilde will delight in the transformation of the source material into something wholly original.” RT Book Reviews
“This sideways retelling Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night is a fun, witty tale, with characters you wish you could befriend and drink with at a dingy London pub.” Ed Lazallari, author of Awakenings
All Men of Genius is utterly charming. A large ensemble cast revolves around the central character, Violet Adams, as smoothly as gears in a precision clock. Like the best steampunk, it feels as though it were written in a much older time. Witty, dashing, and a little bit dangerous.” Mary Robinette Kowal, author of Shades of Milk and Honey
“A lighthearted debut... Decommissioned robots, mysterious mechanisms, strange squid creatures, blackmail, and a number of vivid characters add up to a great deal of fun.” Publishers Weekly
“[Emily] Gray narrates with a combination of energy, intelligence, and sweetness to bring this clever examination of nineteenth-century gender roles, class, and culture to life.” AudioFile
“This tale of cross dressing, science, romance, and rampaging automatons, complete with a host of quirky professors that may remind readers of those in the Harry Potter series, will delight teen readers...A brilliantly fun novel.” School Library Journal
“Rosen writes with color and verve, particularly in his descriptions of mechanical marvels, and also offers moments of unexpected poignancy, such as the sad history of Cecily’s governess Miriam, whose characterization far exceeds the depth of her initial inspirations, Earnest’s ditzy Miss Prism, and Twelfth Night’s comic maid Maria” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Author

Author Bio: Lev AC Rosen

Lev AC Rosen is the author of the critically acclaimed adult novels All Men of Genius and Depth, as well as the middle-grade novels Woundabout and The Memory Wall. He received his BA from Oberlin College and his MFA in creative writing from Sarah Lawrence College. He lives in lower Manhattan with his husband and a very small cat.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 16.95
Audience: Adult
Edition: English