All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook by Leslie Connor audiobook

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

By Leslie Connor
Read by Michael Crouch and Kathleen McInerney

HarperCollins, Katherine Tegen Books 9780062333469
9.69 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062448187

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781504695992

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids’ Indie Next List Pick From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me. Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home. When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A 2016 New England Book Award Finalist

Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids’ Indie Next List Pick

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth—and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the “outside” world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Perry Cook is a character who steps off the page, wanders through your mind, and finds his way to your heart.” Lynda Mullaly Hunt, New York Times bestselling author
“Remind[s] us that…understanding is stronger than what seems to be justice, that kindness is deeper and fuller than anger, and that goodness can heal brokenness.” Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor–winning author
“Vivid characters whose stories of perseverance after tragedy embody the novel’s themes of redemption, hope, and community. This beautifully written work will send readers’ spirits soaring.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“With complex, memorable characters, a situation that demands sympathy, and a story that’s shown, not just told, this is fresh and affecting. Well-crafted, warm, and wonderful.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Readers will long remember the folks of Blue River after its gates have closed.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“In a novel filled with endearing characters, sad goodbyes, and new beginnings, Connor expresses the depth of Perry’s homesickness without romanticizing his life in a prison.” Publishers Weekly
“This book offers a different kind of diversity story that is important for kids to find on the shelf.” Booklist
“Michael Crouch’s voice suggests the unspoiled innocence of eleven-year-old Perry…Crouch voices Perry’s simple thoughts and comments, which reveal the rich perspective and wisdom he has derived from his nurturing mother and the male inmates who have raised him…This poignant story inspires questions about truth, justice, family, and home.” AudioFile
“Filled with tough truths, relentless optimism, fierce love, and above all else gorgeous writing. I loved every heartbreaking, joyful page.” Corey Ann Haydu, author of Rules for Stealing Stars
“A heartwarming story with an unstoppable hero, a mystery that keeps you guessing, and a unique setting. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a rich look at family and what it means to face adversity and fly—I loved it.” Kimberly Newton Fusco, author of Beholding Bee
“Leslie Connor has given young readers a gentle introduction into the world of incarcerated parents in an engaging and ultimately wonderfully rewarding story.” Nora Raleigh Baskin, author of Ruby on the Outside

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Leslie Connor

Author Bio: Leslie Connor

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.69
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English