American Elsewhere by Robert Jackson Bennett audiobook

American Elsewhere

By Robert Jackson Bennett
Read by Graham Winton

Recorded Books, Inc.
22.40 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $15.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470366520

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Some places are too good to be true. Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map. In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things. After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother's home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother's past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different ... From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbors we thought we knew.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Some places are too good to be true. Under a pink moon, there is a perfect little town not found on any map. In that town, there are quiet streets lined with pretty houses, houses that conceal the strangest things. After a couple years of hard traveling, ex-cop Mona Bright inherits her long-dead mother's home in Wink, New Mexico. And the closer Mona gets to her mother's past, the more she understands that the people of Wink are very, very different ... From one of our most talented and original new literary voices comes the next great American supernatural novel: a work that explores the dark dimensions of the hometowns and the neighbors we thought we knew.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"American Elsewhere conjures up echoes of the best works of Ray Bradbury and Stephen King…American Elsewhere manages to surprise, terrify and move the reader.” Los Angeles Times
“Bennett’s novel may remind readers of the early works of Stephen King, presenting a small town where nothing is what it seems…Bennett’s work also evokes a mood similar to that of Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves, where every darkness may swallow a person only to spit them out into a place akin to Wonderland.” RT Book Reviews
“Bennett gives the idealized image of the American dream a pan-dimensional twist with this alien invasion tale, part Bradbury and part L’Engle with a dash of Edward Scissorhands…Readers will be captivated from start to finish.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“This wonderful offering is perfect for fans of Stephen King and Neil Gaiman.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Robert Jackson Bennett

Author Bio: Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett’s 2010 debut, Mr. Shivers, won the Shirley Jackson Award as well as the Sydney J. Bounds Newcomer Award. His second novel, The Company Man, won a Special Citation of Excellence from the Philip K. Dick Award, as well as an Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original. His third novel, The Troupe, was published to high critical and popular acclaim. Born in Baton Rouge, he now lives in Austin with his wife and son.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 22.40
Audience: Adult
Language: English