An Irish Country Wedding by Patrick Taylor audiobook

An Irish Country Wedding: A Novel

By Patrick Taylor
Read by John Keating

Macmillan Audio 9781427226396
12.83 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427226402

An Irish Country Wedding is another heart-warming addition to New York Times bestselling author Patrick Taylor's Irish Country series. Love is in the air in the colourful Ulster village of Ballybucklebo, where Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly has finally proposed to the darling of his youth, Kitty O'Hallorhan. There's a wedding to be planned, but before O'Reilly can make it to the altar, he and his young colleague, Barry Laverty, M.B., must deal with the usual round of eccentric patients—and crises both large and small. Being a G.P. in a place like Ballybucklebo often means more than simply splinting broken bones and tending to aches and pains. It can also mean helping a struggling young couple acquire their first home, clearing the name of a cat accused of preying on a neighbor's prize pigeons, and encouraging a bright working-class girl who dreams of someday becoming a doctor herself. And, if you're Barry Laverty, still smarting from a painful breakup, there might even be a chance for a new romance with a lovely school teacher, if her passionate political convictions don't get in the way. Much has changed in Ballybucklebo, and bigger changes are in store, but the lives and practices of these Irish country doctors remain as captivating and irresistible as ever.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

An Irish Country Wedding is another heart-warming addition to New York Times bestselling author Patrick Taylor's Irish Country series.

Love is in the air in the colourful Ulster village of Ballybucklebo, where Dr. Fingal Flahertie O'Reilly has finally proposed to the darling of his youth, Kitty O'Hallorhan. There's a wedding to be planned, but before O'Reilly can make it to the altar, he and his young colleague, Barry Laverty, M.B., must deal with the usual round of eccentric patients—and crises both large and small.
Being a G.P. in a place like Ballybucklebo often means more than simply splinting broken bones and tending to aches and pains. It can also mean helping a struggling young couple acquire their first home, clearing the name of a cat accused of preying on a neighbor's prize pigeons, and encouraging a bright working-class girl who dreams of someday becoming a doctor herself. And, if you're Barry Laverty, still smarting from a painful breakup, there might even be a chance for a new romance with a lovely school teacher, if her passionate political convictions don't get in the way.
Much has changed in Ballybucklebo, and bigger changes are in store, but the lives and practices of these Irish country doctors remain as captivating and irresistible as ever.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time. The Globe and Mail
Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life. Irish America Magazine
With an unerring eye for detail, the talents of a natural storyteller, and the ability to pepper his anecdotes with large doses of wit and humor, Patrick Taylor has written a delightful novel. Caligary Herald on An Irish Country Doctor
Wraps you in the sensations of a vanished time and place. The Vancouver Sun on An Irish Country Doctor
Taylor is a bang-up storyteller who captivates and entertains from the first word. Publishers Weekly on An Irish Country Girl
“While I thoroughly enjoy Taylor's stories, I like them even more as audiobooks as John Keating does an excellent job reading them. I've reviewed numerous audiobooks and the ones in this series read by John Keating are the best. Simcoe.com
“What Herriot did for Yorkshire, Taylor does for Northern Ireland’s County Antrim and County Down; minus the animals, of course, but with all the good sentiments. Taylor's seventh in the Irish Country Doctor series (An Irish Country Doctor, 2007, etc.) provides a dose of easy medicine to readers familiar with the 1960s milieu and characters in the fictional wee town of Ballybucklebo, where Dr. Fingal Flahertie O’Reilly practices medicine. …The author notes this is the first in the series where he’s confronted ‘The Troubles.’ He does so in a limited way, with equal measures of empathy and realism. Kinky’s afterword and recipes end the book, along with a glossary of Irish dialect. Gentle, colorful, feel-good stories of a peaceable life long gone. Think Mayberry with Dr. O’Reilly as Sheriff Taylor.” Kirkus Reviews
“In the latest installment in the Irish Country series, Taylor continues the adventures of the much-loved doctors and the Ballybucklebo villagers, complete with a glossary of authentic Irish slang. While longtime lovers of the series will enjoy this episode, new readers might want to start with an earlier entry. Fans of Frank Delaney, Jan Karon, and Gail Fraser will appreciate Taylor’s humorous, dialect-tinged take on small-town drama. A spirited and compassionate story filled with pastoral Irish imagery, cheerful village life, and heartwarming romance.” Booklist
“Taylor masterfully charts the small victories and defeats of Irish village life.” Irish America magazine, praise for the author
“The author laces his heartwarming moments with liberal doses of whiskey and colorful Ulster invectives.” Chicago Sun-Times, praise for the author
“Patrick Taylor has become probably the most popular Irish-Canadian writer of all time.” Globe and Mail, praise for the author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Patrick Taylor

Author Bio: Patrick Taylor

Patrick Taylor is the author of the Irish Country novels, including the New York Times bestseller An Irish Country Wedding. He was born and raised in Bangor, County Down, in Northern Ireland. He is a retired medical researcher and a professor emeritus at the University of British Columbia.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 12.83
Audience: Adult
Language: English