And Sons by David Gilbert audiobook

And Sons: A Novel

By David Gilbert
Read by George Newbern

Random House Audio
16.20 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $25.00

    Special Price $23.75

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780385359566

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish “[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.   The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.   So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.   In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality. NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE    “Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins   “Extraordinary.”Time   “Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR   “A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times   “[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly   “This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family.”The Boston Globe   “Audacious . . . [one of the year’s] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction.”The Washington Post

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2013 New York Times Editor’s Choice

A 2013 Washington Post Notable Book for Ficiton

A Los Angeles Times bestseller

An NPR bestseller

Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award, August 2013

A Barnes & Noble Best Book in July 2013

A 2013 BookPage Best Book

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish “[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.   The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.   So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.   In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality. NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE    “Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins   “Extraordinary.”Time   “Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR   “A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times   “[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly   “This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family.”The Boston Globe   “Audacious . . . [one of the year’s] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction.”The Washington Post

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“David Gilbert’s And Sons is that novel you’ve been waiting for without knowing you were waiting. Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny, it’s a moving story about fathers and sons and success, a dead-on, deadpan retelling of our American literary myth.” Jess Walter, New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Ruins
“The writing is gorgeous.” John Irving, New York Times bestselling author of In One Person
“Informed by observation and memory rather than aspiration and fantasy, And Sons is a New York novel written by an actual New Yorker. David Gilbert is smart, funny, and empathetic, but most important, possessed of a true literary sensibility that is seasoned, not seasonal.” Fran Lebowitz, New York Times bestselling author of Social Studies
“[A] big, rich book…With wit and heart, Gilbert illuminates the complicated ways that fathers and sons misunderstand, disappoint, and love one another and how their behavior affects the women in their lives.” Real Simple

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: David Gilbert

Author Bio: David Gilbert

David Gilbert is the author of the story collection Remote Feed and the novel The Normals. His stories have appeared in the New Yorker, Harper’sGQ, and Bomb. He lives in New York with his wife and children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 16.20
Audience: Adult
Language: English