Area X by Jeff VanderMeer audiobook

Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy—Annihilation, Authority, Acceptance

By Jeff VanderMeer
Read by Carolyn McCormick , Bronson Pinchot , and Xe Sands

Blackstone Publishing 9780374261177

The Southern Reach Trilogy

26.23 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781483097015

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $54.95

    Special Price $27.48

    ISBN: 9781483083933

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $44.95

    Special Price $22.48

    ISBN: 9781483083926

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

If J. J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weismancollaborated on a series, it might be this awesome. This collection includes all three novels in the epicSouthern Reach trilogy—Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance. Praised for its evocative prose, chilling psychologicaltwists, and intriguing story arc, this series has amassed high critical andpopular acclaim, with book one landing on the New York Times bestsellers list. Dive into the mysteries of Area X, a remote and lushterrain that has inexplicably sequestered itself from civilization. Twelve expeditionshave gone in, and not a single member of any of them has remained unchanged bythe experience—for better or worse.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A 2014 Entertainment Weekly Best Book for Fiction

A Kirkus Reviews Pick of 7 Addictive Series

A Library Journal Best Book of 2014

If J. J. Abrams, Margaret Atwood, and Alan Weismancollaborated on a series, it might be this awesome.

This collection includes all three novels in the epicSouthern Reach trilogy—Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance. Praised for its evocative prose, chilling psychologicaltwists, and intriguing story arc, this series has amassed high critical andpopular acclaim, with book one landing on the New York Times bestsellers list.

Dive into the mysteries of Area X, a remote and lushterrain that has inexplicably sequestered itself from civilization. Twelve expeditionshave gone in, and not a single member of any of them has remained unchanged bythe experience—for better or worse.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“I’m loving the Southern Reach trilogy by Jeff VanderMeer. Recommended by an indie bookseller. Creepy and fascinating.” Stephen King, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“VanderMeer’s dreamy narrative, shot through with echoes of Lovecraft, Orwell, and Kafka, is compulsively readable.” Entertainment Weekly
“Chilling.” New York Times
“Successfully creepy, an old-style gothic horror novel set in a not-too-distant future. The best bits turn your mind inside out.” Washington Post
“Original and beautiful, maddening and magnificent.” Warren Ellis, author of Crooked Little Vein

Reviews

Reviews

by Stephanie 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

For fans of Margaret Atwood's Oryx & Crake

This story strikes the perfect balance between horror and dystopia. The narration reads as a first person journal entry, further adding to the disturbing events. I'm a huge Margaret Atwood fan and this book brought me back to the rush I felt reading her Oryx & Crake series. I highly recommend this story to fans of adventure, science fiction, & mystery.
by Ana 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Keeps you hooked

This book really had me off-balance at first, because I wasn't familiar with such a narrative style. A friend told me that this shifts in the second and third books, and she was right. The pace changes, but as I got into the second book I began to appreciate more how VanderMeer built the story in the first one, Annihilation.

"The Biologist" is a bit of a grouchy character, and we are introduced to her at first. She doesn't let people close, which means that the listener also has a hard time getting close and empathizing with her. There is a sense of floating above a scene unfolding in an intricate and beautiful way, and this quiescence is then punctuated by moments of intensity, confusion, and perplexing twists to the story.

The character we meet in the second book is one that I became more emotionally attached to -- "Control" immediately cares about others, including The Biologist. His character is narrated by Bronson Pinchot, who I really enjoy as a reader. Carolyn McCormick and Xe Sands also did very fine jobs -- the entire production was perfectly executed. The story did not leave me feeling unsatisfied, as some said they may have felt like they were left hanging. I think I "got" what VanderMeer was trying to express about a sort of ecological balance and it's perfection despite the violence and sometimes alien qualities of its life.

What I found especially unique about VanderMeer's style was how I often felt like his process was part of his story. He asks questions, he casts away assumptions, he twists and turns around an idea and then criticizes the whole endeavor. I suppose this is a very brave way to write, and perhaps one of the reasons for his success in this trilogy. He seems to be treading new ground, and is very dedicated to pushing past any reliance on the standard tools of plotting and character development.

Author

Author Bio: Jeff VanderMeer

Author Bio: Jeff VanderMeer

Jeff VanderMeer is an award-winning novelist and editor. He has twice won the World Fantasy Award and has been a finalist for the Hugo Award, Philip K. Dick Award, International Horror Guild Award, British Fantasy Award, Bram Stoker Award, Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award, and the World Fantasy Award. His fiction has appeared in the Library of America’s American Fantastic Tales and in multiple anthologies. His recent books have made the year’s best books lists of Publishers Weekly, San Francisco Chronicle, and Amazon.com. He writes nonfiction for the Washington Post, New York Times Book Review, Los Angeles Times, and the Guardian, among others. He grew up in the Fiji Islands and now lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with his wife.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 26.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English