Becoming Vanessa by Vanessa Brantley-Newton audiobook

Becoming Vanessa

By Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Read by Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Listening Library
1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $2.00
    or 1 Credit
    Available on 06/15/2021

    ISBN: 9780593399859

For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindegarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are. On Vanessa's first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn't so sure. She wears her fanciest outfit so her new classmates will notice her right away. They notice, but the attention isn't what she'd hoped for. As the day goes on, she feels more self-conscious. Her clothes are too bright, her feather boa has way too many feathers, and even her name is too hard to write. The next day, she picks out a plain outfit, and tells her mom that her name is too long. She just wants to blend in, with a simple name like the other girls--why couldn't her parents have named her Megan or Bella? But when her mother tells her the meaning behind her name, it gives her the confidence she needs to introduce her classmates to the real Vanessa.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For readers of Alma and How She Got Her Name and The King of Kindegarten, this story will help kids just starting school transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies so they can love who they are. On Vanessa's first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn't so sure. She wears her fanciest outfit so her new classmates will notice her right away. They notice, but the attention isn't what she'd hoped for. As the day goes on, she feels more self-conscious. Her clothes are too bright, her feather boa has way too many feathers, and even her name is too hard to write. The next day, she picks out a plain outfit, and tells her mom that her name is too long. She just wants to blend in, with a simple name like the other girls--why couldn't her parents have named her Megan or Bella? But when her mother tells her the meaning behind her name, it gives her the confidence she needs to introduce her classmates to the real Vanessa.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Author Bio: Vanessa Brantley-Newton

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English