Brood by Jackie Polzin audiobook

Brood: A Novel

By Jackie Polzin
Read by Rebecca Lowman

Random House Audio
4.84 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $15.00

    Special Price $10.50

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780593348949

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction’s 2021 First Novel Prize • An exquisite new literary voice—wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout—depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.   “Full of nuance and humor and strangeness…[Polzin] writes beautifully about everything.” —The New York Times   Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined. Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. As the year unfolds, we come to know the small band of loved ones who comprise the narrator's circumscribed life at this moment. Her mother, a flinty former home-ec teacher who may have to take over the chickens; her best friend, a real estate agent with a burgeoning family of her own; and her husband whose own coping mechanisms for dealing with the miscarriage that haunts his wife are more than a little unfathomable to her. A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Longlisted for the Center for Fiction’s 2021 First Novel Prize • An exquisite new literary voice—wryly funny, nakedly honest, beautifully observational, in the vein of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout—depicts one woman's attempt to keep her four chickens alive while reflecting on a recent loss.   “Full of nuance and humor and strangeness…[Polzin] writes beautifully about everything.” —The New York Times   Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined. Intimate and startlingly original, this slender novel is filled with wisdom, sorrow and joy. As the year unfolds, we come to know the small band of loved ones who comprise the narrator's circumscribed life at this moment. Her mother, a flinty former home-ec teacher who may have to take over the chickens; her best friend, a real estate agent with a burgeoning family of her own; and her husband whose own coping mechanisms for dealing with the miscarriage that haunts his wife are more than a little unfathomable to her. A stunning and brilliantly insightful meditation on life and longing that will stand beside such modern classics as H is for Hawk and Gilead, Brood rewards its readers with the richness of reflection and unrelenting hope.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Full of nuance and humor…Polzin has a gift for detail and an eye for the way little creatures can absorb and sometimes erase our worries.” New York Times Book Review
“Her observation of the fragility and loveliness of daily life is so sharp and her commentary so droll, trenchant and precise, that the modest world she describes becomes almost numinous.” Washington Post
“Witty and profound…Told in short vignettes studded with breath-catching wisdom, this novel feels both delicate and sustaining from beginning to end.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jackie Polzin

Author Bio: Jackie Polzin

Jackie Polzin lives in Minnesota with her husband and children. Brood is her first novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 4.84
Audience: Adult
Language: English