The Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron audiobook

The Bone Orchard: A Novel

By Paul Doiron
Read by Henry Leyva

Macmillan Audio 9781250034885

The Mike Bowditch Mysteries: Book 5

9.88 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427240989

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch has left the Maine Warden Service and is working as a fishing guide in the North Woods. But when his mentor Sgt. Kathy Frost is forced to kill a troubled war veteran in an apparent case of "suicide by cop," he begins having second thoughts about his decision. Now Kathy finds herself the target of a government inquiry and outrage from the dead soldier's platoon mates. Soon she finds herself in the sights of a sniper, as well. When the sergeant is shot outside her farmhouse, Mike joins the hunt to find the mysterious man responsible. To do so, the ex-warden must plunge into his friend's secret past—even as a beautiful woman from Mike's own past returns, throwing into jeopardy his tentative romance with wildlife biologist Stacey Stevens. As Kathy Frost lies on the brink of death and a dangerous shooter stalks the blueberry barrens of central Maine, Bowditch is forced to confront the choices he has made and determine, once and for all, the kind of man he truly is, in The Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week, July 2014

In the aftermath of a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch has left the Maine Warden Service and is working as a fishing guide in the North Woods. But when his mentor Sgt. Kathy Frost is forced to kill a troubled war veteran in an apparent case of "suicide by cop," he begins having second thoughts about his decision.

Now Kathy finds herself the target of a government inquiry and outrage from the dead soldier's platoon mates. Soon she finds herself in the sights of a sniper, as well. When the sergeant is shot outside her farmhouse, Mike joins the hunt to find the mysterious man responsible. To do so, the ex-warden must plunge into his friend's secret past—even as a beautiful woman from Mike's own past returns, throwing into jeopardy his tentative romance with wildlife biologist Stacey Stevens.

As Kathy Frost lies on the brink of death and a dangerous shooter stalks the blueberry barrens of central Maine, Bowditch is forced to confront the choices he has made and determine, once and for all, the kind of man he truly is, in The Bone Orchard by Paul Doiron.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Hurtles through a rural Maine landscape so well evoked you can feel the black flies biting and hear the warblers in the bushes. Book Page
Bad Little Falls is a jewel of a book. Doiron has gotten it all magnificently right: a hell of a good mystery, beautifully drawn landscape and characters so evocatively written they follow you off the page. Buy this. The guy can write. Nevada Barr, New York Times bestselling author of Rope
Doiron's third Bowditch entry is riveting and honest, with full-depth characters and a landscape that isn't cutting any slack. Readers of Nevada Barr and C. J. Box will enjoy this similar tale, with the added surprise of a refreshing hero whose youth and inexperience Doiron skillfully twists into an asset. Booklist
A high-stakes, high-tension yarn in which you keep wishing everything would turn out fine for the deeply flawed, deeply sympathetic hero. Kirkus
"The Bone Orchard [is] both a rich exploration of character and a satisfying mystery.” Associated Press
Excellent . . . a murder case with some truly wicked twists. Dorion matches strong characters with effective prose and subtle characterizations. Fans of Steve Hamilton's Alex McKnight series, likewise set in a remote region close to Canada, will find a lot to like. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Excellent…Thoughtful plotting and strong characters raise this above the crime novel pack.” Publishers Weekly
“Continues to deliver vivid local characters and wild Maine landscapes, as well as a satisfying mystery to solve. Recommended for readers who appreciate maverick backwoods investigators like Steve Hamilton’s Alex McKnight.” Library Journal
“In Mike Bowditch’s fifth outing, Henry Leyva’s narration offers a more thoughtful hero than listeners have heard before…While Leyva’s Down East accents are a little heavy-handed with certain over-the-top characters, he’s generally credible, particularly with place names. Leyva deftly handles Bowditch’s unpredictable moods, slipping easily from intense grief to being controlled and capable of logical deductions.” AudioFile
Massacre Pond is a tough act to follow, but Doiron avoids series stagnancy by placing Bowditch outside of the law-enforcement circle he once loved and treating readers to another round of top-notch outdoors-Maine description. Highly recommended for fans of C. J. Box and Craig Johnson.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Paul Doiron

Author Bio: Paul Doiron

Paul Doiron, a bestselling author and native of Maine, attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English. The Poacher’s Son, the first book in the Mike Bowditch series, won the Barry Award and the Strand Award for best first novel and was nominated for the Edgar, Anthony, and Macavity Awards in the same category. He is a registered Maine guide specializing in fly fishing and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine with his wife.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 9.88
Audience: Adult
Language: English