The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler audiobook

The Forbidden Library

By Django Wexler
Read by Cassandra Morris

Listening Library, Listening Library (Audio)

The Forbidden Library Series: Book 1

8.69 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781101891117

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.

It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“It’s a joy to watch the dutiful Alice develop her innate curiosity and become a proactive, resourceful heroine…This is a charming, adventuresome fantasy from a promising new author.” Booklist
“Wexler ingeniously creates an inventive world with interesting creatures and frightening situations. The ending will leave children with many questions, as a sequel is strongly implied.” School Library Journal
For middle-grade readers or young teens newly interested in fantasy, this will be an easy-to-access story…Give to readers who enjoy Lemony Snicket’s dark humor or those looking for a new fantasy series with a mild edge.” VOYA
“Vaguely reminiscent of Harry Potter, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, and Inkheart all rolled into one, it’s good fun.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Cassandra Morris’ clear, youthful voice is well matched to the character of smart and resourceful Alice…Morris’ high voice is tinged with subversive humor, and her ability to drop subtle vocal clues while narrating enhances the ominous and suspenseful moments…With a calculated pace, she unfolds this tense story, and her depth and range truly come into play in her characterizations of supernatural creatures, oddly secretive household inhabitants, and portentous cats. This work is an excellent kickoff to a promising series, and Morris illuminates its world beautifully.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Django Wexler

Author Bio: Django Wexler

Django Wexler graduated from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh with degrees in creative writing and computer science and worked for the university in artificial intelligence research. He is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci-fi geek and full-time fantasy writer. He is the author of the Shadow Campaign series and The Forbidden Library is his first novel for children.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 8.69
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English