The Penderwicks in Spring by Jeanne Birdsall audiobook

The Penderwicks in Spring

By Jeanne Birdsall
Read by Susan Denaker

Listening Library (Audio)

The Penderwicks Series: Book 4

9.72 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780553552164

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.   Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.   Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.   Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family, from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall, is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
 
Springtime is finally arriving on Gardam Street, and there are surprises in store for each member of the family.
 
Some surprises are just wonderful, like neighbor Nick Geiger coming home from war. And some are ridiculous, like Batty’s new dog-walking business. Batty is saving up her dog-walking money for an extra-special surprise for her family, which she plans to present on her upcoming birthday. But when some unwelcome surprises make themselves known, the best-laid plans fall apart.
 
Filled with all the heart, hilarity, and charm that has come to define this beloved clan, The Penderwicks in Spring is about fun and family and friends (and dogs), and what happens when you bring what's hidden into the bright light of the spring sun.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

…chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions…[t]he Penderwicks have a strong bench, so, happily, expect more. Booklist starred review
The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome. Publishers Weekly starred review
“The warmth and compassion of the Penderwick family comes through in every page of this slice-of-life novel, healing emotional bruises and reassuring readers that most problems can be overcome.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Chock full of all the qualities fans love (humor, heart, and the honest exploration of emotions.” Booklist (starred review)
“The Penderwick family is back in the fourth book of Birdsall’s popular series…Throughout the series, Birdsall has demonstrated considerable skill at crafting a modern classic, merging modern-day wit with an old-fashioned charm. Birdsall is a master at making the everyday exciting.” School Library Journal
“Narrator Susan Denaker does a splendid job with this fourth in the Penderwick series. Although part of a large blended family, each of the Penderwick kids is distinct, along with their many friends and neighbors. At center stage is Batty, who sounds determined and earnest as she begins a dog-walking business…Denaker is impressive with the foreign languages that the family members occasionally use. She’s also very moving as Batty copes with the double loss of her mother—who died at her birth—and her beloved dog, Hound. Listeners will enjoy the feeling of nostalgia that permeates this contemporary novel.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jeanne Birdsall

Author Bio: Jeanne Birdsall

Jeanne Birdsall promised herself when she was young that she would be a writer someday so that she could write books for children to discover and enjoy, just as she did at her local library. She is the author of The Penderwicks, which won the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, as well as more books in the Penderwicks series and two picture books.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.72
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English