The Beige Man by Helene Tursten audiobook

The Beige Man

By Helene Tursten
Translated by Marlaine Delargy
Read by Suzanne Toren

Recorded Books, Inc.

The Inspector Irene Huss Series: Book 7

10.11 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781490657578

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $42.99

    ISBN: 9781664438224

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

TARGET CONSUMER: Fans of Scandinavian crime fiction/"Nordic noir" A speeding BMW leaves a dead pedestrian in its wake and leads police to the corpse of a young girl in a cellar. Detective Inspector Irene Huss's ensuing investigation draws her into the chilling world of sex trafficking. One of Soho Crime's bestselling series, Swedish Detective Inspector Irene Huss is another example of why the Scandinavian crime fiction trend is so hot. This latest installment is translated by critically acclaimed literary translator Marlaine Delargy Irene Huss is an everywoman--a hard-working wife and mom with grouchy teenage daughters to worry about--but she's also a small-town superhero, a martial arts champion, and an intuitive detective. Two policemen parked at a snack bar in downtown Goteborg can hardly believe their eyes when a stolen BMW races past at breakneck speed, nearly crashing into them. They take up the chase and witness the suspect mow down a pedestrian. When they finally catch up to the car, it has been abandoned in the forest near the cabin--where they find the corpse of a young girl in the cellar. The ensuing hunt for a murderer leads Detective Inspector Irene Huss into the dark world of sex trafficking. An international criminal has arrived in Goteborg, and he'll stop at nothing to expand his sinister operation. Praise for the Irene Huss series "As good as Louise Welsh's similarly creepy tour of Glasgow."-- Entertainment Weekly "These days Scandinavian crime writers are thick on the ground. It's nice to see that the women can be just as bloodthirsty as the men."--The New York Times Book Review "[Tursten] imbues this novel with a cold chill of dread that can't be attributed only to the subfreezing temperatures of GOteborg in winter."--Chicago Sun Times "Truly satisfying."--Philadelphia Inquirer Series Overview: Irene Huss is a former Ju-Jitsu champion, a mother of twin teenage girls, the wife of a successful chef, and a Detective Inspector with the Violent Crimes Unit in GOteborg, Sweden. Author Bio: Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. Other books in the Irene Huss series include Detective Inspector Huss, Night Rounds, The Torso, The Glass Devil, The Golden Calf, and The Beige Man. She was born in GOteborg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband and daughter. Publicity and Marketing National media campaign targeting mystery and crime review. Print Advertising: LIBRARY JOURNAL, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, CRIMESPREE, MYSTERY SCENE, STRAND Digital Advertising: SHELF AWARENESS PRO, GOODREADS

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

TARGET CONSUMER: Fans of Scandinavian crime fiction/"Nordic noir" A speeding BMW leaves a dead pedestrian in its wake and leads police to the corpse of a young girl in a cellar. Detective Inspector Irene Huss's ensuing investigation draws her into the chilling world of sex trafficking. One of Soho Crime's bestselling series, Swedish Detective Inspector Irene Huss is another example of why the Scandinavian crime fiction trend is so hot. This latest installment is translated by critically acclaimed literary translator Marlaine Delargy Irene Huss is an everywoman--a hard-working wife and mom with grouchy teenage daughters to worry about--but she's also a small-town superhero, a martial arts champion, and an intuitive detective. Two policemen parked at a snack bar in downtown Goteborg can hardly believe their eyes when a stolen BMW races past at breakneck speed, nearly crashing into them. They take up the chase and witness the suspect mow down a pedestrian. When they finally catch up to the car, it has been abandoned in the forest near the cabin--where they find the corpse of a young girl in the cellar. The ensuing hunt for a murderer leads Detective Inspector Irene Huss into the dark world of sex trafficking. An international criminal has arrived in Goteborg, and he'll stop at nothing to expand his sinister operation. Praise for the Irene Huss series "As good as Louise Welsh's similarly creepy tour of Glasgow."-- Entertainment Weekly "These days Scandinavian crime writers are thick on the ground. It's nice to see that the women can be just as bloodthirsty as the men."--The New York Times Book Review "[Tursten] imbues this novel with a cold chill of dread that can't be attributed only to the subfreezing temperatures of GOteborg in winter."--Chicago Sun Times "Truly satisfying."--Philadelphia Inquirer Series Overview: Irene Huss is a former Ju-Jitsu champion, a mother of twin teenage girls, the wife of a successful chef, and a Detective Inspector with the Violent Crimes Unit in GOteborg, Sweden. Author Bio: Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. Other books in the Irene Huss series include Detective Inspector Huss, Night Rounds, The Torso, The Glass Devil, The Golden Calf, and The Beige Man. She was born in GOteborg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband and daughter. Publicity and Marketing National media campaign targeting mystery and crime review. Print Advertising: LIBRARY JOURNAL, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, CRIMESPREE, MYSTERY SCENE, STRAND Digital Advertising: SHELF AWARENESS PRO, GOODREADS

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“These days Scandinavian crime writers are thick on the ground. It’s nice to see that the women can be just as bloodthirsty as the men.” New York Times Book Review
"[Tursten] imbues this novel with a cold chill of dread that can’t be attributed only to the subfreezing temperatures of Göteborg in winter.” Chicago Sun-Times
“Stockholm gets all the press, but Gothenburg brings in the tourists with its annual film festival and largest port in the Nordic countries. Who needs that girl with the dragon tattoo when Swedish bestseller Tursten is on the case?” Fisher Magazine
“Two cases that arise on the same wintry night in Göteborg, Sweden, propel Tursten’s excellent seventh mystery featuring Detetective Inspector Irene Huss…Cleverly, Tursten doesn’t reveal the significance of the beige man of the title until the last page.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Fans of Henning Mankell and Håkan Nesser will enjoy Tursten. For readers new to the series, there is no need to start at the beginning. Allow yourself time; this can be easily read in one sitting.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Tursten again masterfully blends a well-paced procedural with a broader social issue and the personal lives of members of the Göteborg, Sweden, police force. Superior Scandinavian crime fiction with a feminist bent.” Booklist
“Effectively puzzling till the final pages, rewardingly logical in its conclusion—one of Irene’s best.” Kirkus Reviews
“Scandinavian detective fiction is enjoying global popularity, and this audio page-turner once again proves why. Suzanne Toren is an excellent choice to portray police detective Irene Huss, who is thrown into the investigation of a sex-trafficking ring. Toren capably manage the demands of Swedish pronunciation and a wide-ranging cast of characters, which include gruff policemen. Her skill makes complex scenes filled with long stretches of dialogue easy to follow. Her variety in pitch, tone, and pace keeps the action moving and builds the suspense. The story moves quickly as the listener is drawn further into the complexity of the crime.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Helene Tursten

Author Bio: Helene Tursten

Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. She is the author of the short story collection An Elderly Lady Is Up to No Good as well as the Irene Huss mysteries and the Embla Nyström mysteries. Her books have been translated into twenty-one languages and made into a television series. She was born in Gothenburg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.11
Audience: Adult
Language: English