The Golden Specific by S. E. Grove audiobook

The Golden Specific

By S. E. Grove
Read by Cassandra Campbell

Listening Library

The Mapmakers Trilogy: Book 2

15.32 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $27.50

    Special Price $17.88

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781101915325

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman! It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.             Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.             There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman! It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.             Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.             There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In her sequel to The Glass Sentence, Grove continues the adventures of Sophia and Theo with as much originality and intrigue as expressed in her debut novel.” VOYA
“This delicious blend of magic, history, and science will continue to delight fans of intricate world-building and rich storytelling.” School Library Journal
“Readers who have already read the first installment will gladly savor another journey with Sophia and marvel at the worlds they enter. Brilliantly imagined and full of wonder.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Cassandra Campbell is up to the challenge presented by this second tale in the Mapmakers Trilogy. She has distinctive voices for all the characters, and she makes shifts smoothly as the story weaves its way through time and space…Fans of complex, fantastical worlds filled with magic, history, science, and more than a touch of danger will enjoy the journey if they pick up Book 1 first.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: S. E. Grove

Author Bio: S. E. Grove

S. E. Grove, author of the Mapmakers Trilogy, is a historian and an aspiring explorer. Having grown up in Latin America and all over the United States, she is used to living in different kinds of places. As a historian, she is also used to traveling to other time periods (at least in her head). She is interested in just about every kind of history, but her reading takes her most often to the Americas and history of the Spanish-speaking world. She most enjoys reading histories that immerse you in a time and place, giving you a sense of daily life there.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 15.32
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English