Killing Pretty by Richard Kadrey audiobook

Killing Pretty: A Sandman Slim Novel

By Richard Kadrey
Read by MacLeod Andrews

HarperCollins, HarperAudio 9780062373106

The Sandman Slim Series: Book 7

9.79 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062395344

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781504614504

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Sandman Slim investigates Death’s death in this hip, propulsive urban fantasy through a phantasmagoric LA rife with murder, mayhem, and magic. James Stark has met his share of demons and angels, on earth and beyond. Now, he’s come face to face with the one entity few care to meet: Death. Someone has tried to kill Death—ripping the heart right out of him—or rather the body he’s inhabiting. Death needs Sandman Slim’s help: he believes anyone who can beat Lucifer and the old gods at their own game is the only one who can solve his murder. Stark follows a sordid trail deep into LA’s subterranean world, from vampire-infested nightclubs to talent agencies specializing in mad ghosts, from Weimar Republic mystical societies to sleazy supernatural underground fight and sex clubs. Along the way he meets a mysterious girl—distinguished by a pair of graveyard eyes—as badass as Slim: she happens to be the only person who ever outwitted Death. But escaping her demise has had dire consequences for the rest of the world . . . and a few others. For years, Slim has been fighting cosmic forces bent on destroying Heaven, Hell, and Earth. This time, the battle is right here on the gritty streets of the City of Angels, where a very clever, very ballsy killer lies in wait.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Sandman Slim investigates Death’s death in this hip, propulsive urban fantasy through a phantasmagoric LA rife with murder, mayhem, and magic.

James Stark has met his share of demons and angels, on earth and beyond. Now, he’s come face to face with the one entity few care to meet: Death.

Someone has tried to kill Death—ripping the heart right out of him—or rather the body he’s inhabiting. Death needs Sandman Slim’s help: he believes anyone who can beat Lucifer and the old gods at their own game is the only one who can solve his murder.

Stark follows a sordid trail deep into LA’s subterranean world, from vampire-infested nightclubs to talent agencies specializing in mad ghosts, from Weimar Republic mystical societies to sleazy supernatural underground fight and sex clubs. Along the way he meets a mysterious girl—distinguished by a pair of graveyard eyes—as badass as Slim: she happens to be the only person who ever outwitted Death. But escaping her demise has had dire consequences for the rest of the world . . . and a few others.

For years, Slim has been fighting cosmic forces bent on destroying Heaven, Hell, and Earth. This time, the battle is right here on the gritty streets of the City of Angels, where a very clever, very ballsy killer lies in wait.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This is a fun one, but be warned: It’s especially dark. What’s most significant about this story is incessantly stubborn James Stark’s evolution as a character, which proves that sometimes people can only grow when they’ve lost nearly everything.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)
“If your tastes trend to noir grit and L.A. cool, Slim is your man.” Barnes & Noble Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog
“Urban fantasy fans who place a premium on humor are most likely to enjoy Kadrey’s seventh Sandman Slim novel…[with its] over-the-top entertainment.” Publishers Weekly
“Even though his new boss is always asking Stark to walk the straight and narrow, series fans shouldn’t fear that he’s going soft. There’s still plenty of the violence and mayhem that Stark attracts without even trying.” Library Journal
“The Sandman Slim novels have always had a noirish feel to them, but here the author really embraces the mood…Fans of Chandler, Cain, and Goodis will feel right at home here, even if they don’t usually read urban fantasy, and Kadrey’s readers, naturally, will dive in head first.” Booklist
“Narrator MacLeod Andrews ably voices Stark’s world-weariness…Andrews produces an enticing cacophony of accents for an international cast, including a Germanic vampire, a Czech zombie hunter, and a timid witch. He brings life to the gritty backdrop of Stark’s world, even though it’s largely a violent realm of death. Andrews grabs listeners and propels them through this dazzling journey from Death to life to, well, death again.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard Kadrey

Author Bio: Richard Kadrey

Richard Kadrey, a New York Times bestselling author, has written a number of novels, including Sandman Slim, Kill the Dead, and Kill City Blues, as well as more than fifty short stories. He has been immortalized as an action figure, his short story “Goodbye Houston Street, Goodbye” was nominated for a British Science Fiction Association Award, and his novel Butcher Bird was nominated for the Prix Elbakin in France.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 9.79
Audience: Adult
Language: English