The Storms of War by Kate Williams audiobook

The Storms of War

By Kate Williams
Read by Fiona Hardingham

Blackstone Publishing 9781605988672
18.35 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504634823

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $7.95

    ISBN: 9781504634809

  • $44.95

    ISBN: 9781504634854

  • $44.95

    ISBN: 9781504634847

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything, and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Atonement, Birdsong, and Downton Abbey, the first of three novels about a privileged British family enduring the trials of World War I, from New York Times bestselling author Kate Williams

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world.

But the onslaught of war changes everything, and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it.” Alison Weir, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“The new novel by the historian Kate Williams is an epic story about a young woman whose idyllic world is shattered by the First World War.” Sunday Telegraph (London)
“This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist. Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them.” Times (London)
“A big juicy drama set on the eve of the First World War. Kate Williams paints a spellbinding portrait of a family clinging on desperately to their privileged way of life.” Good Housekeeping (UK)
“Williams keeps her story moving and the result is a vivid portrait of a perennially fascinating period of history.” Observer (London)
“Kate Williams is a vivid writer, conjuring atmosphere through scents and tastes as well as period props.” Times Literary Suplement
“Quietly impressive…Hard to put down…A new perspective on an old war. Gripping, thoughtful, heartbreaking, and, above all, human.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Although the war drives the plot, the sympathetic and well-drawn characters—especially Michael and Celia—possess a depth beyond their circumstances…This detailed, descriptive novel brings an era to life.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kate Williams

Author Bio: Kate Williams

Kate Williams is the award-winning author of The Pleasures of Men, Becoming Queen, and England’s Mistress, which was short-listed for the Marsh Prize for Biography. She holds a master’s degree from the University of London and a doctorate in eighteenth-century culture from Oxford.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 18.35
Audience: Adult
Language: English