Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese audiobook

Medicine Walk

By Richard Wagamese
Read by Tom Stechschulte

By Richard Wagamese
Read by Tom Stechschulte

Recorded Books, Inc. 9781571311153
8.02 Hours Unabridged
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781490672502

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $42.99

    ISBN: 9781664441163

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected. A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

By the celebrated author of Canada Reads Finalist Indian Horse, a stunning new novel that has all the timeless qualities of a classic, as it tells the universal story of a father/son struggle in a fresh, utterly memorable way, set in dramatic landscape of the BC Interior. For male and female readers equally, for readers of Joseph Boyden, Cormac McCarthy, Thomas King, Russell Banks and general literary. Franklin Starlight is called to visit his father, Eldon. He's sixteen years old and has had the most fleeting of relationships with the man. The rare moments they've shared haunt and trouble Frank, but he answers the call, a son's duty to a father. He finds Eldon decimated after years of drinking, dying of liver failure in a small town flophouse. Eldon asks his son to take him into the mountains, so he may be buried in the traditional Ojibway manner. What ensues is a journey through the rugged and beautiful backcountry, and a journey into the past, as the two men push forward to Eldon's end. From a poverty-stricken childhood, to the Korean War, and later the derelict houses of mill towns, Eldon relates both the desolate moments of his life and a time of redemption and love and in doing so offers Frank a history he has never known, the father he has never had, and a connection to himself he never expected. A novel about love, friendship, courage, and the idea that the land has within it powers of healing, Medicine Walk reveals the ultimate goodness of its characters and offers a deeply moving and redemptive conclusion. Wagamese's writing soars and his insight and compassion are matched by his gift of communicating these to the reader.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A novel about the role of stories in our lives, those we tell ourselves about ourselves and those we agree to live by.” Globe and Mail (Toronto)
Medicine Walk…feels less written than painstakingly etched into something more permanent than paper…For Frank, a ‘hunt was a process.’ And so is the way Wagamese pursues his story: biding his time, never rushing, calibrating each word so carefully that he too never seems to waste a shot…Though death saturates these pages, not a word here is lugubrious…There’s nothing plain about this plain-spoken book.” New York Times Book Review
“Wagamese has penned a complex, rugged, and moving father-son novel. His muscular prose and spare tone complement this gem of a narrative.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Wagamese is a keen observer, sketching places…or people…elegantly, economically, all while gracefully employing literary insight to deftly dissect blood ties lingering in fractured families. A powerful novel of hard men in hard country reminiscent of Jim Harrison’s Legends of the Fall.” Kirkus Reviews
“Tom Stechschulte’s skill in voicing the cadence of Native American characters makes him the perfect narrator for this breathtaking novel…Stechschulte sensitively portrays the boy’s vulnerability and deep cynicism as the pair embark on a horseback trip into the precipitous backcountry…The exquisite, almost lyrical, prose is beautifully rendered by Stechschulte.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard Wagamese

Author Bio: Richard Wagamese

Richard Wagamese (1955–2017) was one of Canada’s foremost writers. He was a newspaper columnist and reporter, radio and television broadcaster and producer, documentary producer, and the author of over a dozen previous novels, including Keeper’n Me and Indian Horse, which was a Canada Reads Finalist. He was also the author of acclaimed memoirs, including For Joshua, the bestselling One Native Life, and One Story, One Song, which won the George Ryga Award for Social Awareness in Literature. Wagamese won numerous awards and recognition for his writing. He led writing and storytelling workshops across the country and made frequent appearances as a speaker.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 8.02
Audience: Adult
Language: English