The Riddle of the Labyrinth by Margalit Fox audiobook

The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code

By Margalit Fox
Read by Pam Ward

Tantor Audio
7.73 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $17.99

    Special Price $7.20

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781452686219

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative. When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery. Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing for Nonfiction

In the tradition of Simon Winchester and Dava Sobel, The Riddle of the Labyrinth: The Quest to Crack an Ancient Code tells one of the most intriguing stories in the history of language, masterfully blending history, linguistics, and cryptology with an elegantly wrought narrative.

When famed archaeologist Arthur Evans unearthed the ruins of a sophisticated Bronze Age civilization that flowered on Crete 1,000 years before Greece's Classical Age, he discovered a cache of ancient tablets, Europe's earliest written records. For half a century, the meaning of the inscriptions, and even the language in which they were written, would remain a mystery.

Award-winning New York Times journalist Margalit Fox's riveting real-life intellectual detective story travels from the Bronze Age Aegean—the era of Odysseus, Agamemnon, and Helen—to the turn of the 20th century and the work of charismatic English archeologist Arthur Evans, to the colorful personal stories of the decipherers. These include Michael Ventris, the brilliant amateur who deciphered the script but met with a sudden, mysterious death that may have been a direct consequence of the decipherment; and Alice Kober, the unsung heroine of the story whose painstaking work allowed Ventris to crack the code.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Fox is a talented storyteller, and she creates an atmosphere of almost nail-biting suspense. . . . This one deserves shelf space along such classics of the genre as Simon Singh's The Code Book. Booklist Starred Review
“Fox’s achievement here is to make this fascinating tale accessible to a broader audience.” Washington Post
“A nail-biting intellectual and cultural adventure.” Times (London)
“Deft, sharply written…Fox’s account runs with the pace and tension of a detective story and has much to say about language and writing systems along the way.” Guardian (London)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Margalit Fox

Author Bio: Margalit Fox

Margalit Fox, an author and a senior writer at the New York Times, is considered one of the foremost explanatory writers and literary stylists in American journalism. Her book The Riddle of the Labyrinth won the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 7.73
Audience: Adult
Language: English