I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh audiobook

I Let You Go

By Clare Mackintosh
Read by Nicola Barber  and Steven Crossley

9781101987490
12.23 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780804195096

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $40.00

    ISBN: 9780804195089

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER One of The New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Crime Novels of 2016! The next blockbuster thriller for those who loved The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl...“a finely crafted novel with a killer twist.”(#1 New York Times bestselling author Paula Hawkins)   On a rainy afternoon, a mother's life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into the street...   I Let You Go follows Jenna Gray as she moves to a ramshackle cottage on the remote Welsh coast, trying to escape the memory of the car accident that plays again and again in her mind and desperate to heal from the loss of her child and the rest of her painful past.   At the same time, the novel tracks the pair of Bristol police investigators trying to get to the bottom of this hit-and-run. As they chase down one hopeless lead after another, they find themselves as drawn to each other as they are to the frustrating, twist-filled case before them. Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner, says, “I read I Let You Go in two sittings; it made me cry (at least twice), made me gasp out loud (once), and above all made me wish I'd written it...a stellar achievement.”

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller

Shortlisted for the 2016 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for May 2016

A May 2016 LibraryReads Pick

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

One of The New York Times Book Review’s 10 Best Crime Novels of 2016!

The next blockbuster thriller for those who loved The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl...“a finely crafted novel with a killer twist.”(#1 New York Times bestselling author Paula Hawkins)

 
On a rainy afternoon, a mother's life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into the street...
 

I Let You Go follows Jenna Gray as she moves to a ramshackle cottage on the remote Welsh coast, trying to escape the memory of the car accident that plays again and again in her mind and desperate to heal from the loss of her child and the rest of her painful past.
 
At the same time, the novel tracks the pair of Bristol police investigators trying to get to the bottom of this hit-and-run. As they chase down one hopeless lead after another, they find themselves as drawn to each other as they are to the frustrating, twist-filled case before them. Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner, says, “I read I Let You Go in two sittings; it made me cry (at least twice), made me gasp out loud (once), and above all made me wish I'd written it...a stellar achievement.”

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

You'll be shocked by the twist in the middle of I Let You Go—just don't spoil it for everyone else! PopSugar
An intense psychological thriller…[that] revels in surprises and twists…Outstanding. Associated Press
On the level of the movie The Sixth Sense for its cleverness...This kind of sharp, cunning writing makes one eagerly look forward to Mackintosh’s next novel. Shelf Awareness
Thrilling...a tense psychological thriller. Real Simple
Jaw-dropping...the kind of book that sticks in the reader’s mind well after the final sentence. Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Addictive...one thrill after another. Samantha Hayes, author of What You Left Behind
Mind-bending. Booklist
A wonderfully layered thriller that skillfully builds from that one tragic event. It makes a good match for fans of Sophie Hannah and Erin Kelly. Library Journal (starred review) 
Genuinely shocking...[A] cunning psychological thriller. Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
Astonishingly good. Lee Child, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of Make Me  
“Astonishingly good.” Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author
Chilling, compelling, and compassionate. Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Timesbestselling author of The Girl on the Train
“Genuinely shocking…[A] cunning psychological thriller.” New York Times Book Review
“An intense psychological thriller…[that] revels in surprises and twists…Outstanding.” Associated Press
“A wonderfully layered thriller that skillfully builds from that one tragic event.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Mackintosh’s excellent writing features both memorable characters and a compelling portrayal of the eccentricities of small-town life in a close-knit community. But the author’s real skill is in the way she incorporates jaw-dropping, yet plausible, plot twists into the already complex story line.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“In this dual narration, Steven Crossley delivers a third-person account of Detective Inspector Ray Stevens’ campaign to find the hit-and-run killer of a little boy…Nicola Barber performs a first-person Jenna Gray, a young woman shattered by the crime…Mackintosh weaves together police procedural, family drama, and the anatomy of a murder. Deftly performed and pretty terrific.” AudioFile
“With its authentic voices, switchback twists, and delicate character studies, this is a rewarding read from a writer with a real understanding of what makes a gripping crime novel.” Sarah Hilary, winner of Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year
“A hugely assured and gripping debut and a twist that made me green with envy.” Mark Billingham, author of the Tom Thorne novels

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Clare Mackintosh

Author Bio: Clare Mackintosh

Clare Mackintosh is an award-winning, international bestselling novelist. She spent twelve years on the police force in the United Kingdom, including time on CID and as a public order commander. She left the police in 2011 to work as a freelance journalist and social media consultant, and now writes full time. Her debut novel, I Let You Go, was a London Sunday Times bestseller and was 2015’s fastest selling title by a new crime writer. It was the winner of the Richard and Judy Book Club readers’ vote.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 12.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English