Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray audiobook

Defy the Stars

By Claudia Gray
Read by Nate Begle  and Kasey Lee Huizinga

Little, Brown Young Readers 9780316394031

The Constellation Series: Book 1

11.36 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $22.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781478915386

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $35.00

    Special Price $22.75

    ISBN: 9781478919445

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

She’s a soldier. Noemi Vidal is seventeen years old and sworn to protect her planet, Genesis. She’s willing to risk anything—including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she’s a rebel. He’s a machine. Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel has advanced programming that’s begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he’s an abomination. Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they’re not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they’re forced to question everything they’d been taught was true.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A BookRiot Pick of Best YA  Audiobooks

A 2017 ALA Best Book for Young Adults

An Amazon Best Book of the Month 

She’s a soldier.

Noemi Vidal is seventeen years old and sworn to protect her planet, Genesis. She’s willing to risk anything—including her own life. To their enemies on Earth, she’s a rebel.

He’s a machine.

Abandoned in space for years, utterly alone, Abel has advanced programming that’s begun to evolve. He wants only to protect his creator, and to be free. To the people of Genesis, he’s an abomination.

Noemi and Abel are enemies in an interstellar war, forced by chance to work together as they embark on a daring journey through the stars. Their efforts would end the fighting for good, but they’re not without sacrifice. The stakes are even higher than either of them first realized, and the more time they spend together, the more they’re forced to question everything they’d been taught was true.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A gripping sci-fi…There is adventure, and rebels, and characters questioning what makes a soul a soul, and debates on sacrifice, and it’s all so good. The back and forth between Noemi and Abel and their differing views is enhanced by the two narrators, and Begle’s reading of Abel’s chapters in a slightly static, robotic tone is surprisingly engaging.” BookRiot
“Narrator Kasey Lee Huizinga embodies Noemi, a futuristic soldier…[and] narrator Nate Begle creates a robotic monotone for Abel with developing hints of emotion as he grows and begins to understand that perhaps he is more than artificial intelligence created by a human and constrained by his programming.” AudioFile
“Startlingly original and achingly romantic, Abel and Noemi’s adventure will linger in my imagination—and my heart—for aeons. Defy the Stars is nothing short of masterful.” Kass Morgan, New York Times bestselling author
“With a love story that sweeps across the galaxy and a heart-racing high-action plot, Defy the Stars brilliantly explores what it means to be human. This book shines like the stars.” Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author
“Fans of Star Wars and Star Trek will enjoy the sci-fi elements…Early on in the story, Defy the Stars has a huge plot twist that will set hearts racing, as it’s a big game-changer. Brilliantly done, the book explores what it means to be human.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Nuanced philosophical discussions of religion, terrorism, and morality advise and direct the high-stakes action, informing the beautiful, realistic ending. Intelligent and thoughtful, a highly relevant far-off speculative adventure.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Poignant and profound…Gray’s characters are nuanced, her worldbuilding is intelligent, and the book’s conclusion thrills and satisfies while defying expectations.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“This top-notch space adventure features a well-developed plot and an unexpected, satisfying ending. The story also gives serious treatment to the ethical dilemmas around highly advanced robotics and artificial intelligence…This is a complex and well-told tale about loyalty, love, and the meaning of life.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Claudia Gray

Author Bio: Claudia Gray

Claudia Gray is the author of Star Wars: Bloodline; Star Wars: Leia, Princess of Alderaan; and Star Wars: Lost Stars. Her other books include Defy the Stars and the Evernight, Spellcaster, and the Firebird series, among others.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 11.36
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English