Three More Words by Ashley Rhodes-Courter audiobook

Three More Words

By Ashley Rhodes-Courter
Read by Ashley Rhodes-Courter

Blackstone Publishing 9781481415583
8.60 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $5.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504622332

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $2.78

    ISBN: 9781504625944

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $20.97

    ISBN: 9781504620420

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    ISBN: 9781504620437

Ashley Rhodes-Courter spent a harrowing nine years of her life in fourteen different foster homes. Her memoir, Three Little Words, captivated audiences everywhere and went on to become a New York Times bestseller. Now Ashley reveals the nuances of life after foster care: college and its assorted hijinks, including meeting “the one.” Marriage, which began with a beautiful wedding on a boat that was almost hijacked (literally) by some biological family members. Having kids—from fostering children and the heartbreak of watching them return to destructive environments, to the miraculous joy of blending biological and adopted offspring. Whether she’s overcoming self-image issues, responding to calls asking for her to run for Senate, or dealing with continuing drama from her biological family, Ashley Rhodes-Courter never fails to impress or inspire with her authentic voice and uplifting message of hope.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Ashley Rhodes-Courter spent a harrowing nine years of her life in fourteen different foster homes. Her memoir, Three Little Words, captivated audiences everywhere and went on to become a New York Times bestseller. Now Ashley reveals the nuances of life after foster care: college and its assorted hijinks, including meeting “the one.” Marriage, which began with a beautiful wedding on a boat that was almost hijacked (literally) by some biological family members. Having kids—from fostering children and the heartbreak of watching them return to destructive environments, to the miraculous joy of blending biological and adopted offspring.

Whether she’s overcoming self-image issues, responding to calls asking for her to run for Senate, or dealing with continuing drama from her biological family, Ashley Rhodes-Courter never fails to impress or inspire with her authentic voice and uplifting message of hope.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Ashley Rhodes-Courter is triumphant in her quest to overcome insurmountable odds. I celebrate her courage to seek out the best in humanity in spite of its failings.” Victoria Rowell, New York Times bestselling author
“The author’s ability to form intelligent, open-minded conclusions about her traumatic childhood demonstrates her remarkable control and insight, and although there are plenty of wrenching moments, she succeeds not in attracting pity but in her stated intention, of drawing attention to the children who currently share the plight that she herself overcame.” Publishers Weekly
“This gifted young writer’s moving and eye-opening story will especially appeal to fans of Jeannette Walls’s The Glass Castle and David Pelzer’s autobiographical books…This memoir lends a powerful voice to thousands of ‘boomerang kids’ who repeatedly wind up back in foster care.” School Library Journal
“Rhodes-Courter pulls no punches; her no-filter depiction of the foster-care system, her biological family, and herself is fiercely real.” Horn Book
“Compelling…Though Rhodes-Courter has been hurt and disappointed many times, she has an admirable capacity for love and forgiveness.” Junior Library Guild

Reviews

Reviews

by Odin 12/1/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

A rare view of a world we know little about

Having come from a rather unhappy foster care background, Ashley shares with us the way she as an adult conducts her own foster care and adoptive parenting herself. There’s an arresting quality in the book that is enhanced by the author providing the narration, adding a layer of empathy for the listener to experience. The fact that both Ashley and her husband Eric endured such deplorable treatment as foster parents is another testimony to the honesty Ashley has shared with the listener many of the vulnerabilities as she attempts to share with the listener the memories that have impacted her over the years, and why today, she is the foster parent she is. Kudos for an excellent penning into a world few of us know about.



Author

Author Bio: Ashley Rhodes-Courter

Author Bio: Ashley Rhodes-Courter

Ashley Rhodes-Courter has been featured in Teen People, the New York Times, USA Today, and Glamour, as well as on Good Morning America. Her first memoir, Three Little Words, began as an essay, which won a writing contest for high school students, and was published in the New York Times Magazine. A graduate of Eckerd College and a champion for the reformation of the foster-care system, Ashley speaks internationally on foster care and adoption.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography
Runtime: 8.60
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English