The Eye of the Virgin by Frederick Ramsay audiobook

The Eye of the Virgin

By Frederick Ramsay
A Poisoned Pen Press Mystery
Read by Lloyd James

Blackstone Publishing 9781590587607

The Ike Schwartz Mysteries: Book 6

7.40 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $16.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455198009

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482104813

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441749758

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441749765

Ike Schwartz is the sheriff of Picketsville, a small town not far from Washington, D.C. A former CIA agent, Ike remains connected to the Agency through a friend who sometimes still involves him in cases on the side. Ike is also courting Ruth, the fiercely independent president of the town’s new university. All this is usually enough to bring some interesting conflicts Ike’s way. A new one arises when a body is found in Picketsville’s urgent-care clinic, a body sitting in a chair but dead for hours. Perhaps not coincidentally, there is also a break-in at the house of a new university faculty member whose expertise lies in icons. Can a specific icon called the Virgin of Tenderness be the spark to these crimes? Ike figures that any spycraft contained in the picture would be decades old. Or would it?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Ike Schwartz is the sheriff of Picketsville, a small town not far from Washington, D.C. A former CIA agent, Ike remains connected to the Agency through a friend who sometimes still involves him in cases on the side. Ike is also courting Ruth, the fiercely independent president of the town’s new university. All this is usually enough to bring some interesting conflicts Ike’s way.

A new one arises when a body is found in Picketsville’s urgent-care clinic, a body sitting in a chair but dead for hours. Perhaps not coincidentally, there is also a break-in at the house of a new university faculty member whose expertise lies in icons. Can a specific icon called the Virgin of Tenderness be the spark to these crimes? Ike figures that any spycraft contained in the picture would be decades old. Or would it?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Absorbing…With folksy charm and dollops of humor, Ramsay crafts a tale of international intrigue in which the past and present make poor bedfellows. Fans of Ruth and Ike’s blossoming romance will find plenty to cheer about.” Publishers Weekly
“Sure-footed plotting and easy banter make Ramsay’s sixth Sheriff Ike mystery a brisk, entertaining read.” Kirkus Reviews
“Has Ramsay’s trademark folksy touch, a well-rounded cast of characters, and brisk and believable dialogue.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Frederick Ramsay

Author Bio: Frederick Ramsay

Frederick Ramsay was born in Baltimore and received a doctorate from the University of Illinois. After a stint in the army, he joined the faculty of the University of Maryland School of Medicine. He is also an ordained Episcopal priest and an accomplished public speaker. In addition to the Ike Schwartz mysteries, the Botswana mysteries, and the Jerusalem mysteries, Ramsay is the author of scientific and general articles, tracts, and theses and coauthor of the Baltimore Declaration. He lives in Surprise, Arizona, with his wife and partner, Susan.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 7.40
Audience: Adult
Language: English