The Blinds: A Novel

By Adam Sternbergh
Read by Stephen Mendel

10.77 Hours 08/01/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download
  • Regular Price: $24.99

    Special Price $19.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062682048

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538416013

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538416037

A blistering thriller from the Edgar-nominated author of Shovel Ready—a speculative modern Western with elements of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, and the Coen brothers that is wickedly funny, razor-sharp, and totally engrossing Imagine a place populated by criminals—people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who’ve been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don’t know if they have perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What is clear to them is that, if they leave, they will end up dead. For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace—but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town’s residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her—and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It’s simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A blistering thriller from the Edgar-nominated author of Shovel Ready—a speculative modern Western with elements of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, and the Coen brothers that is wickedly funny, razor-sharp, and totally engrossing

Imagine a place populated by criminals—people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who’ve been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don’t know if they have perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What is clear to them is that, if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years, Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace—but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town’s residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her—and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It’s simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak and dark betrayals.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Adam Sternbergh is a genre-bender of the highest caliber. Part thriller, part Western, part pulpy whodunit, The Blinds is a propulsive and meaningful meditation on redemption and loss. It’s witty, electrifying, vivid, and thoroughly original.” Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author
“A quick-paced story of crime and deception…The Blinds is a thriller for fans of Westerns, Cormac McCarthy, and the Coen brothers.” Dallas Morning News
“The Blinds [is] a thrilling Western unlike any you’ve read before.” Vulture
“Cleverly improvising on the chord changes common to classic westerns (especially High Noon) and evoking the locked-room horror of Jim Thompson’s The Getaway, Sternbergh shows again why he is one of the most inventive thriller writers working today.” Booklist (starred review)
“A tense, broiling, twenty-first-century Western with a crafty premise.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Fans of Sternbergh’s earlier works will enjoy this story’s clever premise, complex characters, and fast pace. Readers looking for a different kind of thriller with many twists and an explosive climax will also find much to relish.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Adam Sternbergh

Adam Sternbergh is the culture editor of the New York Times Magazine. Formerly an editor-at-large for New York, his writing has been featured in several other publications including GQ, the Times of London, and on the radio program This American Life.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 10.77
Audience: Adult
Language: English