Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy audiobook

Ramona Blue

By Julie Murphy
Read by Thérèse Plummer

Balzer + Bray 9780062418357
9.93 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $24.99

    Special Price $12.50

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062476036

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781538419106

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781538419120

The fourth novel from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’—now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton! For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson, Julie Murphy has created another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever. Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever. The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The fourth novel from Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’—now a Netflix feature film starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston, with a soundtrack by Dolly Parton!

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson, Julie Murphy has created another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi. But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool. But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke. Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Therese Plummer’s folksy Southern accents are at-home in this audiobook set in the small town of Eulogy, Mississippi, after Hurricane Katrina. Plummer offers up a variety of vocal twangs and pitches for the cast of friends and family who keep Ramona afloat during her senior year as she faces her biggest fear of all: change.” AudioFile
“Julie Murphy delivers a fresh and glorious love story that addresses all the complexities of one’s heart. Ramona Blue’s discovery of limitless love is total beauty.” Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author
“Ramona is a protagonist to root for…Murphy’s portrait of small-town life, with examinations of poverty, sexuality, racism, and more, is insightful and illuminating.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Julie Murphy knows a thing or two about navigating the worlds of girls on the brink of self-discovery.” Booklist (starred review)
“Ramona’s first-person narration is tender and compelling…An exquisite, thoughtful exploration of the ties that bind and the fluidity of relationships, sexuality, and life.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“A great setting for a coming-of-age story, as Ramona realizes that she’s capable of more than she imagined and that some categories are more fluid than she’d thought.” Publishers Weekly
Ramona Blue…[is] hilarious, it’s heartfelt, and it’s so, so real. I just wish I’d had this book to read during my own teen years!” Robin Talley, author of Lies We Tell Ourselves

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julie Murphy

Author Bio: Julie Murphy

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she’s not writing or trying to catch stray animals, Julie can be found in a library smelling old books and manning the reference desk.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Romance
Runtime: 9.93
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English