Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

By Julie C. Dao
Read by Kim Mai Guest

The Rise of the Empress Series: Book 1

13.38 Hours 10/10/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $27.50

    Special Price $24.75

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780525493969

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become empress. Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be empress of Feng Lu—but only if she embraces the darkness within her. Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins—sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute. Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will love this stunning debut.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A Junior Library Guild Selection

The Wrath and the Dawn meets Snow White and the Huntsman in this dark and mystical East Asian fantasy reimagining of the Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become empress.

Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be empress of Feng Lu—but only if she embraces the darkness within her.

Growing up as a peasant in a forgotten village on the edge of the map, Xifeng longs to fulfill the destiny promised to her by her cruel aunt, the witch Guma, who has read the cards and seen glimmers of Xifeng’s majestic future. But is the price of the throne too high? Because in order to achieve greatness, she must spurn the young man who loves her and exploit the callous magic that runs through her veins—sorcery fueled by eating the hearts of the recently killed. For the god who has sent her on this journey will not be satisfied until his power is absolute.

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with both breathtaking pain and beauty, Forest of a Thousand Lanterns possesses all the hallmarks of masterful fantasy: dazzling magic, heartbreaking romance, and a world that hangs in the balance. Fans of Heartless, Stealing Snow, and Red Queen will love this stunning debut.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Kim Mai Guest’s narration not only emulates Xifeng’s ruthlessness in trying to fulfill her destiny but also a young woman’s determination to keep her morals along the way…Guest’s flowing voice changes inflection as Xifeng transforms over the course of the audiobook…With this powerful narration, we see her innermost thoughts and can empathize with her even through her terrible actions. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“A richly developed fantasy world.” Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author
“A masterful reimagining of the early life of Snow White’s Evil Queen.” Booklist (starred review)
“Lushly written…tantalizing reading.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Rich in detail and full of gore and blood, this dark novel will satisfy Game of Throne’ fans.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julie C. Dao

Julie C. Dao is a proud Vietnamese-American who was born in upstate New York. She studied medicine in college but came to realize blood and needles were her Kryptonite. By day, she worked in science news and research; by night, she wrote books about heroines unafraid to fight for their dreams, which inspired her to follow her passion of becoming a published author.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 13.38
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English