The Scarred Woman

by Jussi Adler-Olsen
Read by Graeme Malcolm

The Department Q Series: Book 7

14.44 Hours 09/19/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $22.50

    Special Price $20.25

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781524702496

  • $45.00

    ISBN: 9781524702489

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.   Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder. In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.   Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors’ expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past—a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose’s childhood before it is too late.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Causes delivers his most captivating and suspenseful Department Q novel yet—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson.
 
Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q, Copenhagen's cold cases division, meets his toughest challenge yet when the dark, troubled past of one of his own team members collides with a sinister unsolved murder.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. The case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide investigation from over a decade ago, but the connection between the two victims confounds the police. Across town a group of young women are being hunted. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.
 
Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors’ expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After an earlier breakdown, their colleague Rose is still struggling to deal with the reemergence of her past—a past in which a terrible crime may have been committed. It is up to Carl, Assad, and Gordon to uncover the dark and violent truth at the heart of Rose’s childhood before it is too late.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Thrilling, clever, and driven by a rough-hewn protagonist. Paste Magazine
If you like the dark humor, wisecracking, and layered betrayals of Raymond Chandler, then read Adler-Olsen’s Department Q series. Men's Journal
It can be hard to distinguish Scandinavian crime writers—there are a lot of them, and their names have consonant clusters and umlauts and all that jazz—but Jussi Adler-Olsen is a name to know. In a crowded genre, Adler-Olsen is an outlier. GQ.com 
A tense, pleasurable read. USA Today
[A] sordid tale… inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller. The New York Times Book Review 
When your series relies on cold cases, it’s not always easy to craft plots that have both historical interest and an air of urgency, but it’s something Adler-Olsen is very good at. Booklist
This series has enough twists to captivate contemporary mystery readers and enough substance and background to entertain readers with historical and literary tastes. Library Journal (starred review)
Adler-Olsen merges story lines...with ingenious aplomb, effortlessly mixing hilarities with horrors...This crime fiction tour de force could only have been devised by an author who can even turn stomach flu into a belly laugh. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
[A] superbly constructed multi-layered mystery. Murder, Mayhem, and More 
Highly recommended as dark literature written with beauty and class. The Suspense Is Thrilling Me Blog
[M]esmerizing...The cleverly devised plot paints a fascinating tale of murder and mayhem with a touch of witty and subtle humor. Fresh Fiction 
[R]iveting...All of the Department Q books contain dark humor, high satire, social commentary—not always politically correct—and grand villains, with The Scarred Woman being no exception. BookReporter
[S]atisfyingly dark, both in tone and content...an undeniable page-turner. Publishers Weekly
You’ll be desperate to figure out the identity of the scarred woman as the suspense drives toward a deadly and at times comical conclusion. Associated Press
The novel is eerily timely...[and] the relationship and banter between Carl and his associate Assad, with Assad's ‘linguistic blunders,’ continue to elicit chuckles. Adler-Olsen is deadly serious, though, and compassionate when it comes to poor, traumatized Rose. She may have emotional scars but her friends have got her back. Shelf Awareness
Filled with dark humor and tight plotting....Highly recommended. Spinetingler Magazine
The legions of readers still enjoying the Millennium books will devour this seventh in a series starring the officers of Copenhagen’s cold-case unit, Department Q. Booklist
Scandinavian crime novels don’t get much darker than Jussi Adler-Olsen’s Department Q police procedurals. Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jussi Adler-Olsen

Jussi Adler-Olsen is Denmark’s #1 crime writer. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe and have sold more than sixteen million copies around the world. His many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards include the Glass Key Award, also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, Stieg Larsson, and Peter Høeg.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Runtime: 14.44
Audience: Adult
Language: English