Calling My Name

By Liara Tamani
Read by Imani Parks

6.56 Hours 10/24/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $18.99

    Special Price $15.19

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062688293

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781538457504

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538457498

Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros. This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose. Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Tamani’s debut novel brims with heart and soul…Expressive writing creates intimacy from the outset, and Taja’s relationship with God is especially absorbing.” Publishers Weekly
“An excellent portrayal of African American culture, gorgeous lyrical prose, strong characters, and societal critique make Tamani’s debut a must-read.” Booklist
“Taja deals with the insecurities that most young people feel regarding identity, love, and fitting in…Stylish prose brings home quiet depths.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Liara Tamani

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She recieved an MFA in writing from Vermont College. Her fiction has appeared in Apalachee Review, Blackbird, Ducts, Fourteen Hills, The Griffin, and Storyscape Journal, among others. In addition to writing, she teaches the healing movement forms of Nia and yoga.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Runtime: 6.56
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English