Nine Lessons: A Josephine Tey Mystery

By Nicola Upson
Read by Wanda McCaddon

The Josephine Tey Mysteries: Book 7

10.78 Hours 10/10/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (26Tracks)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538452660

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538452646

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538452653

Josephine Tey, a sharp-witted amateur sleuth based on the celebrated Golden Age mystery writer, returns in the seventh in Nicola Upson’s critically acclaimed series, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear. Called to the peaceful wooded churchyard of St John-at-Hampstead, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces one of the most audacious and unusual murders of his career. The body of the church’s organist is found in an opened grave, together with a photograph of a manor house and a cryptic note. The image leads Archie to Cambridge, where the crisp autumn air has brought with it bustling life to the ancient university and town. Mystery author Josephine Tey and Archie’s lover Bridget Foley have each recently settled in Cambridge, though both women are not equally happy to see him. One has concealed an important secret from Archie which now threatens to come to light. Meanwhile, the change of seasons has also brought with it a series of vicious attacks against women in town, spreading fear and suspicion through the community. Soon, another body is revealed, and in the shadow of King’s College Chapel, Archie uncovers a connection twenty-five years old which haunted both victims—as well as some of their living companions. As Archie and Josephine each grapple with savage malefactors intent on making their victims pay, they must race to stop another attack in this beautifully written, intricately plotted mystery.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Josephine Tey, a sharp-witted amateur sleuth based on the celebrated Golden Age mystery writer, returns in the seventh in Nicola Upson’s critically acclaimed series, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

Called to the peaceful wooded churchyard of St John-at-Hampstead, Detective Chief Inspector Archie Penrose faces one of the most audacious and unusual murders of his career. The body of the church’s organist is found in an opened grave, together with a photograph of a manor house and a cryptic note. The image leads Archie to Cambridge, where the crisp autumn air has brought with it bustling life to the ancient university and town.

Mystery author Josephine Tey and Archie’s lover Bridget Foley have each recently settled in Cambridge, though both women are not equally happy to see him. One has concealed an important secret from Archie which now threatens to come to light. Meanwhile, the change of seasons has also brought with it a series of vicious attacks against women in town, spreading fear and suspicion through the community.

Soon, another body is revealed, and in the shadow of King’s College Chapel, Archie uncovers a connection twenty-five years old which haunted both victims—as well as some of their living companions. As Archie and Josephine each grapple with savage malefactors intent on making their victims pay, they must race to stop another attack in this beautifully written, intricately plotted mystery.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A terrific read…Elegant…A memorable novel.” San Francisco Book Review
“In Upton’s superlative seventh outing for Penrose and his close friend and investigative assistant, real-life mystery author Josephine Tey…Upson successfully incorporates moving and complex interpersonal conflicts involving her main characters into an intricate, credible whodunit story line.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A skillful blend of fact and fiction with compelling plotlines and vivid evocation of 1937 England.” Booklist
“The culture of England between the two World Wars comes vividly to life…Fans of historical British mysteries…will delight in this old-fashioned whodunit starring characters with depth and heart.” Library Journal
“Fans of Charles Todd, Jacqueline Winspear, or Tey herself are sure to adore Nicola Upson’s journey into 1930s England…Readers interested in Britain between the wars will particularly appreciate the grim undercurrents, but anyone can enjoy this clever mystery.” Shelf Awareness

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nicola Upson

Nicola Upson has written for a variety of publications, including the New Statesman, where she was a crime fiction critic. She also regularly contributes to BBC radio and has worked in the theater for many years. She divides her time between Cambridge and Cornwall.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.78
Audience: Adult
Language: English