The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense

By Alafair Burke
Read by Xe Sands

8.16 Hours 01/23/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $23.99

    Special Price $19.19

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062798473

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781538480342

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538480359

His Scandal Her Secret From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself. When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets. This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An Entertainment Weekly “Must Read” selection

A Washington Post Top 10 Book of New Thrillers

His Scandal
Her Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Xe Sands gives us the flat, fragile voice of Angela, the damaged wife in this first-person psychological thriller…Sands gives [Jason] a voice that is warm and amazingly masculine…Sands’ delivery grips the listener’s imagination and makes Burke’s compelling mystery unforgettable. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones. Award.” AudioFile
“A subtly sneaky, emotionally complex, and utterly addictive novel of psychological suspense. The Wife delivers on all fronts.” Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling author
“A timely, gracefully written exploration of family, crime, and the current media-soaked, celebrity-obsessed, smartphone-crazed moment. Highly recommended.” William Landay, New York Times bestselling author
“Written by a former prosecutor with a genius for plot, this thrill ride of a novel takes a hard look at loyalty and the violence a secret can cause—especially when that secret involves a revered public figure accused of rape.” O, The Oprah Magazine
“The latest novel from lawyer-turned-best-selling novelist Burke is as freshly topical as a #MeToo hashtag, but it unfolds with the slow-burn thrill of pure fiction…. A genuine shocker, sneaky and smart.” Entertainment Weekly
“An intriguing, twisty psychological thriller, The Wife had me tearing through the pages, never sure which characters to trust. Smart, suspenseful, and absolutely riveting.” Megan Miranda, author of All The Missing Girls

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Alafair Burke

Alafair Burkes is a New York Times bestselling author of several novels, including The Ex, which was nominated for the Edgar Award for Best Novel. She also coauthors the bestselling Under Suspicion series with Mary Higgins Clark. A former prosecutor, she is now a professor of criminal law.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 8.16
Audience: Adult
Language: English