The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert audiobook

The Hazel Wood: A Novel

By Melissa Albert
Read by Rebecca Soler

10.51 Hours 01/30/2018 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781427293541

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781427293534

"Highly literary, occasionally surreal, and grounded by Alice's clipped, matter-of-fact voice, it's a dark story that readers will have trouble leaving behind. HIGH-DEMAND: the buzz for this debut is deafening..." Booklist, Starred Review From rising star Melissa Albert comes a fantastical story of mythic proportions. Welcome to The Hazel Wooda fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy audiobook. Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away—by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.” Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began—and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong. Praise for The Hazel Wood: "The Hazel Wood starts out strange and gets stranger, in the best possible way...Albert seamlessly combines contemporary realism with fantasy, blurring the edges in a way that highlights that place where stories and real life convene...a captivating debut." — New York Times Book ReviewThe Hazel Wood will be your next obsession.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval “Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” —Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling “This is one of the best books I've read in years.” —Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places “A dream of a book I cannot recommend highly enough.” —Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Los Angeles Times Pick of 5 Fantastic New Audiobooks

An Amazon Best Book of the Month selection

An Entertainment Weekly Pick of Most Anticipated Novels of 2018

A BuzzFeed Books Pick of Most Anticipated Books of 2018

Among longlisted titles for Amazon.com Best Books of the Year, 2018

Among longlisted titles for Barnes and Noble Best New Books of the Year, 2018

Among longlisted titles for Boston Globe Best Books of the Year, 2018

Among longlisted titles for Hudson Booksellers Best of the Year, 2018

"Highly literary, occasionally surreal, and grounded by Alice's clipped, matter-of-fact voice, it's a dark story that readers will have trouble leaving behind. HIGH-DEMAND: the buzz for this debut is deafening..." Booklist, Starred Review

From rising star Melissa Albert comes a fantastical story of mythic proportions.

Welcome to The Hazel Wooda fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy audiobook.

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away—by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began—and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

Praise for The Hazel Wood:

"The Hazel Wood starts out strange and gets stranger, in the best possible way...Albert seamlessly combines contemporary realism with fantasy, blurring the edges in a way that highlights that place where stories and real life convene...a captivating debut." — New York Times Book Review
The Hazel Wood will be your next obsession.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval
“Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” —Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling
“This is one of the best books I've read in years.” —Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places
“A dream of a book I cannot recommend highly enough.” —Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

The Hazel Wood is thoroughly, creepily captivating, with surprises I never saw coming! Such a refreshing and beautifully written inversion of the classic fairy tale-inspired story. Kristin Cashore, award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of the Graceling Realm series
This book will be your next obsession. Welcome to the Hazel Wood, where bad luck is a living thing, princesses are doomed, and every page contains a wondrously terrible adventure—it’s not safe inside these pages, but once you enter, you may never want to leave. The Hazel Wood is pure imagination candy. Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval
2019 YALSA Amazing Audiobook
“Soler…sounds age appropriate and easily conveys the novel’s tension as well as teenage snarkiness.” Los Angeles Times (audio review)
“An original and imaginative fairy tale: thrilling, fascinating, and poignant in equal measure. Grade: A-.” Entertainment Weekly
“Highly literary, occasionally surreal, and grounded by Alice’s clipped, matter-of-fact voice, it’s a dark story that readers will have trouble leaving behind. High demand: The buzz for this debut is deafening.” Booklist (starred review)
The Hazel Wood will be your next obsession.” Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval
“Chilling and atmospheric, this fantasy thriller is at times macabre, at others poetic—and always impossible to put down. While the author draws on a traditional fairy-tale formula, she very cleverly turns it upside down and presents to readers a story as fresh as it is dark. The diverse characters, gritty twists and turns, vivid imagery, and captivating premise make this the perfect choice for fans of Lewis Carroll, Lev Grossman, and Edgar Allan Poe.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Melissa Albert

Author Bio: Melissa Albert

Melissa Albert is the founding editor of the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog and the managing editor of BN.com. She has written for McSweeney’s, Time Out Chicago, MTV, and more.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 10.51
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English