Onyx & Ivory

By Mindee Arnett
Read by Khristine Hvam

The Rime Chronicles: Book 1

14.94 Hours 05/15/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $23.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062840769

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $44.99

    ISBN: 9781538500057

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538500040

“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” —Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author of Truthwitch Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch. They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime. Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death. With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” —Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author of Truthwitch

Acclaimed author Mindee Arnett thrusts readers into a beautiful, dangerous, and magical world in this stunningly epic and romantic fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah Raasch.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime.

Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Only the most skilled ride for the Relay and only the fastest survive, for when night falls, the drakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals.

And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight—the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them to face this new threat and an even darker menace stirring in the kingdom.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author
“Gripping…Arnett builds a rich world of magic and intrigue, enhanced by side characters of substance that create momentum.” Publishers Weekly
“The author has a knack for writing for young adults and molding real-life situations into this engaging story of magic and young love.” School Library Journal
“Part political thriller, part fantasy epic, this is a high-octane adventure that untangles issues of choice, bias, and injustice.” Booklist
“Kate is a hero for the ages, and I was utterly swept away in her story, aching for her trials and rooting for every victory…A triumphant adventure with so much heart.” Natalie D. Richards, bestselling author of One Was Lost
“Everything you’d hope for: stunning betrayals, palace plots, deadly combat, deadly beasts, secrets old and new, magic wild and tame, and of course, magnificent horses.” Liz Coley, internationally bestselling author of Pretty Girl-13

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Mindee Arnett

Mindee Arnett is the author of Avalon as well as The Nightmare Affair and its sequel, The Nightmare Dilemma. She lives on a horse farm in Ohio with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and an inappropriate number of cats.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 14.94
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English