Onyx and Ivory

By Mindee Arnett
Read by Khristine Hvam

The Rime Chronicles: Book 1

14.94 Hours 05/15/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $29.99

    Special Price $23.99

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062840769

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $44.99

    ISBN: 9781538500057

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538500040

For fans of Red Queen, Dividing Eden, and Six of Crows comes a stunning new fantasy epic about an outcast girl, the boy she loves, and the kingdom that has torn them apart. They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king years ago. Now Kate lives as an outcast, clinging to the fringes of society as a member of the Relay, the imperial courier service. Only those most skilled in riding and bow hunting ride for the Relay; and only the fastest survive, for when dark falls, the nightdrakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: she is a wilder, born with magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. But it’s this magic that she needs to keep hidden, as being a wilder is forbidden, punishable by death or exile. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by nightdrakes in broad daylight—the only survivor her childhood friend, her first love, the boy she swore to forget, the boy who broke her heart. The high king’s second son, Corwin Tormane, never asked to lead. Even as he waits for the uror—the once-in-a-generation ritual to decide which of the king’s children will succeed him—he knows it’s always been his brother who will assume the throne. And that’s fine by him. He’d rather spend his days away from the palace, away from the sight of his father broken with sickness from the attempt on his life. But the peacekeeping tour Corwin is on has given him too much time to reflect upon the night he saved his father’s life—the night he condemned the would-be killer to death and lost the girl he loved. Which is why he takes it on himself to investigate rumors of unrest in one of the remote city-states, only to have his caravan attacked—and him to be saved by Kate. With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them. The threat of drakes that attack in the daylight is only the beginning of a darker menace stirring in the kingdom—one whose origins have dire implications for Kate’s father’s attack upon the king and will thrust them into the middle of a brewing civil war in the kingdom of Rime. From the acclaimed author of Avalon comes a breathless, adventurous, romantic, and thrilling journey into a fantasy world you won’t soon forget.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of Red Queen, Dividing Eden, and Six of Crows comes a stunning new fantasy epic about an outcast girl, the boy she loves, and the kingdom that has torn them apart.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king years ago. Now Kate lives as an outcast, clinging to the fringes of society as a member of the Relay, the imperial courier service. Only those most skilled in riding and bow hunting ride for the Relay; and only the fastest survive, for when dark falls, the nightdrakes—deadly flightless dragons—come out to hunt. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: she is a wilder, born with magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. But it’s this magic that she needs to keep hidden, as being a wilder is forbidden, punishable by death or exile. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by nightdrakes in broad daylight—the only survivor her childhood friend, her first love, the boy she swore to forget, the boy who broke her heart.

The high king’s second son, Corwin Tormane, never asked to lead. Even as he waits for the uror—the once-in-a-generation ritual to decide which of the king’s children will succeed him—he knows it’s always been his brother who will assume the throne. And that’s fine by him. He’d rather spend his days away from the palace, away from the sight of his father broken with sickness from the attempt on his life. But the peacekeeping tour Corwin is on has given him too much time to reflect upon the night he saved his father’s life—the night he condemned the would-be killer to death and lost the girl he loved. Which is why he takes it on himself to investigate rumors of unrest in one of the remote city-states, only to have his caravan attacked—and him to be saved by Kate.

With their paths once more entangled, Kate and Corwin must put the past behind them. The threat of drakes that attack in the daylight is only the beginning of a darker menace stirring in the kingdom—one whose origins have dire implications for Kate’s father’s attack upon the king and will thrust them into the middle of a brewing civil war in the kingdom of Rime.

From the acclaimed author of Avalon comes a breathless, adventurous, romantic, and thrilling journey into a fantasy world you won’t soon forget.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“At once fresh, at once classic, Onyx and Ivory is a page-turning blend of monsters, magic, and romance.” Susan Dennard, New York Times bestselling author
“Gripping…Arnett builds a rich world of magic and intrigue, enhanced by side characters of substance that create momentum.” Publishers Weekly
“The author has a knack for writing for young adults and molding real-life situations into this engaging story of magic and young love.” School Library Journal
“Part political thriller, part fantasy epic, this is a high-octane adventure that untangles issues of choice, bias, and injustice.” Booklist
“Kate is a hero for the ages, and I was utterly swept away in her story, aching for her trials and rooting for every victory…A triumphant adventure with so much heart.” Natalie D. Richards, bestselling author of One Was Lost
“Everything you’d hope for: stunning betrayals, palace plots, deadly combat, deadly beasts, secrets old and new, magic wild and tame, and of course, magnificent horses.” Liz Coley, internationally bestselling author of Pretty Girl-13

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Mindee Arnett

Mindee Arnett is the author of Avalon as well as The Nightmare Affair and its sequel, The Nightmare Dilemma. She lives on a horse farm in Ohio with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and an inappropriate number of cats.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 14.94
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English