Me, Myself, and Them by Daniel Mooney audiobook

Me, Myself, and Them

By Daniel Mooney
Read by Aiden Kelly

Park Row Books, Harlequin Audio 9780778368847
10.27 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488204760

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538516584

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538516577

A heartbreaking, funny, and fresh debut novel about one man’s struggle with mental illness, Me, Myself and Them is a moving, eye-opening exploration of the healing power of human connection, perfect for readers of Silver Linings Playbook and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Struggling to cope with a tragic loss, Denis Murphy has, for the past seven years, learned to live a bit differently. Both his friends—Ollie and Frank—are used to his strict routines, like ironing his socks and lighting his fireplace every Sunday afternoon (even in the summer). His forlorn mother puts up with his strange “no touching” antics, even though all she wants is a hug from her son. Really, the only problem is the four monsters he has for roommates. Literally. Plasterer, The Professor, Penny O’Neill and Deano (a mute hairball), this ragtag bunch runs his life and are hell-bent on creating chaos in his orderly world. Then Rebecca returns to town. Rebecca is Denis’ enigmatic ex-girlfriend from his former life and she is sunshine personified. Shocked to meet the new Denis—a broken man, unable to manage even the most basic social interactions—she becomes determined to bring back the old funny, charismatic Denis. It’s not long before Rebecca’s carefree charm threatens to shatter the finely crafted world Denis has created for himself. As Denis begins to re-emerge from his sheltered existence and rediscover the person he used to be, the monsters declare all-out war, and he is forced to finally confront what happened all those years ago and combat the demons that share his house, and his head.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2016 Luke Bitmead Bursary Award

A heartbreaking, funny, and fresh debut novel about one man’s struggle with mental illness, Me, Myself and Them is a moving, eye-opening exploration of the healing power of human connection, perfect for readers of Silver Linings Playbook and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.

Struggling to cope with a tragic loss, Denis Murphy has, for the past seven years, learned to live a bit differently. Both his friends—Ollie and Frank—are used to his strict routines, like ironing his socks and lighting his fireplace every Sunday afternoon (even in the summer). His forlorn mother puts up with his strange “no touching” antics, even though all she wants is a hug from her son. Really, the only problem is the four monsters he has for roommates. Literally. Plasterer, The Professor, Penny O’Neill and Deano (a mute hairball), this ragtag bunch runs his life and are hell-bent on creating chaos in his orderly world.

Then Rebecca returns to town. Rebecca is Denis’ enigmatic ex-girlfriend from his former life and she is sunshine personified. Shocked to meet the new Denis—a broken man, unable to manage even the most basic social interactions—she becomes determined to bring back the old funny, charismatic Denis. It’s not long before Rebecca’s carefree charm threatens to shatter the finely crafted world Denis has created for himself.

As Denis begins to re-emerge from his sheltered existence and rediscover the person he used to be, the monsters declare all-out war, and he is forced to finally confront what happened all those years ago and combat the demons that share his house, and his head.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“One part The Rosie Project, one part personal Heart of Darkness, one part Stephen King—I’ve never read anything quite like it.” Rick O’Shea, radio personality (Ireland)
“Fresh and fast-paced, Dan Mooney’s debut veers into darkness, but somehow never loses sight of lightness and hope. A charming novel on surviving loss and moving on with the help of our friends.” Annie Hartnett, author of Rabbit Cake
Me, Myself and Them is a remarkable debut by a blindingly talented new writer. Dan Mooney tackles tough questions…with…compassion, deft, and originality.” Grant Ginder, author of The People We Hate at the Wedding

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Daniel Mooney

Author Bio: Daniel Mooney

Dan Mooney is an amateur filmmaker and air traffic controller and a friend to many cats. He wrote his first piece of fiction for a child-operated local newspaper at age ten and has been writing ever since. He lives in Ireland.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.27
Audience: Adult
Language: English