The Turning

By Emily Whitman
Read by Kirby Heyborne

8.88 Hours 07/24/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $21.59

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062840912

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781538551578

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538551585

Does he belong to the land or to the sea? Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy. Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk? When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Does he belong to the land or to the sea?

Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.

Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk?

When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Whitman builds a beautiful slow burn with her evocative middle-grade debut…A contemplative tale about the yearning to belong.” Booklist
“Whitman keeps the suspense high and delivers a satisfying conclusion.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emily Whitman

Emily Whitman is the author of two acclaimed books for teenagers, and this is her first novel for younger readers. In all her books, myth and magic are a part of everyday life. She has worked in bookstores and behind library reference desks, and now she teaches writing workshops. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 8.88
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English