The Turning

By Emily Whitman
Read by Kirby Heyborne

8.88 Hours 07/24/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $21.59

    or 1 Credit
    Available on 07/24/2018

    ISBN: 9780062840912

  • $34.99
    Available on 07/24/2018

    ISBN: 9781538551578

  • $39.99
    Available on 07/24/2018

    ISBN: 9781538551585

Acclaimed author Emily Whitman’s middle grade debut follows Aran, a young selkie searching for the one magical link that will mean he truly belongs to his selkie clan, in an exquisitely crafted world full of mythology, family, friendship, and hope. Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported by this evocative and gorgeously written tale. Eleven-year-old Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. Aran was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. But when Aran discovers he is only half-selkie, with a human father, he begins to worry that his pelt will never come. His mother, refusing to give up on Aran’s true form, sets off with the rest of their clan to find the wise selkies far to the north who might have the only solution to Aran’s problem. While she’s gone, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on the remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could ever have imagined. And when Aran’s life is threatened, he must decide whether to fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea. Emily Whitman has crafted a lyrical tale of belonging, rich with Celtic lore and writing that pulls the heart like the tides. Fans of the expertly crafted storytelling of Kate Milford’s The Greenglass House or Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon will savor this deeply felt middle grade debut.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Acclaimed author Emily Whitman’s middle grade debut follows Aran, a young selkie searching for the one magical link that will mean he truly belongs to his selkie clan, in an exquisitely crafted world full of mythology, family, friendship, and hope. Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported by this evocative and gorgeously written tale.

Eleven-year-old Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. Aran was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. But when Aran discovers he is only half-selkie, with a human father, he begins to worry that his pelt will never come. His mother, refusing to give up on Aran’s true form, sets off with the rest of their clan to find the wise selkies far to the north who might have the only solution to Aran’s problem. While she’s gone, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on the remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could ever have imagined. And when Aran’s life is threatened, he must decide whether to fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea.

Emily Whitman has crafted a lyrical tale of belonging, rich with Celtic lore and writing that pulls the heart like the tides. Fans of the expertly crafted storytelling of Kate Milford’s The Greenglass House or Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon will savor this deeply felt middle grade debut.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Whitman builds a beautiful slow burn with her evocative middle-grade debut…A contemplative tale about the yearning to belong.” Booklist
“Whitman keeps the suspense high and delivers a satisfying conclusion.” School Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emily Whitman

Emily Whitman is the author of two acclaimed books for teenagers, and this is her first novel for younger readers. In all her books, myth and magic are a part of everyday life. She has worked in bookstores and behind library reference desks, and now she teaches writing workshops. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 8.88
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English