A Thousand Beginnings and Endings: 15 Retellings of Asian Myths and Legends

Edited by Ellen Oh  and Elsie Chapman
Read by Kim Mai Guest  and Vikas Adam

10.63 Hours 06/26/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $23.99

    Special Price $19.19

    or 1 Credit
    Available on 06/26/2018

    ISBN: 9780062841421

  • $39.99
    Available on 06/26/2018

    ISBN: 9781538550670

  • $39.99
    Available on 06/26/2018

    ISBN: 9781538550687

Fifteen talented authors—including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renée Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa—reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this exquisite collection is for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me. A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Fifteen talented authors—including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renée Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa—reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. Compiled by Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this exquisite collection is for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East Asian and South Asian myths in fifteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from fifteen East Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Renée Ahdieh, and Roshani Chokshi. For fans of April Tucholke’s Slasher Girls & Monster Boys and Holly Black’s Zombies vs. Unicorns.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths…Excellent.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“A marvelous anthology of retold Asian myths and legends tying the traditional and modern together and accessible to all teens of all backgrounds.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“The styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented…These stories are for everyone.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 10.63
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English