Be True to Me by Adele Griffin audiobook

Be True to Me

By Adele Griffin
Read by Laura Knight Keating  and Eva Kaminsky

Recorded Books, Inc.
8.84 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781501956928

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

From a two-time National Book Award finalist comes a riveting romantic drama about the gilded lives of the super-rich and the high price of fitting in. "This is a glittery gem of a book. I was utterly transported to Fire Island--to endless summer days, girls in sundresses, that rush you get the first time you fall hard in love. I fell so hard in love with this book." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister's shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean-not her sister-Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island's tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don't belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

From a two-time National Book Award finalist comes a riveting romantic drama about the gilded lives of the super-rich and the high price of fitting in. "This is a glittery gem of a book. I was utterly transported to Fire Island--to endless summer days, girls in sundresses, that rush you get the first time you fall hard in love. I fell so hard in love with this book." -Jenny Han, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before It's the summer of 1976 on Fire Island, where feathered hair and the Bicentennial celebration reign. Jean, a sometimes cruel, often insecure, and always envious rich girl, is accustomed to living in her glamorous older sister's shadow. So when Gil Burke, a handsome newcomer with uncertain ties to one of the most powerful families in the exclusive enclave of Sunken Haven, notices Jean-not her sister-Jean is smitten. Then Fritz, a girl from outside the gilded gates who humiliated Jean in the Island's tennis championship last year, falls for Gil herself. Soon the girls are competing for much more than a tennis trophy, with higher stakes than either of them can imagine. Through the alternating perspectives of Jean and Fritz, Adele Griffin captures the angst of feeling like you don't belong and the urgency of first love with masterly prose and a sharp wit perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Adele Griffin

Author Bio: Adele Griffin

Adele Griffin is a two-time National Book Award finalist and the highly acclaimed author of numerous books for young adult and middle-grade readers. Her works include Sons of Liberty and Where I Want to Be, as well as the popular Witch Twins and Vampire Island series. She lives with her husband, their two children, and their dog in Brooklyn.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 8.84
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English