Empire of Illusion by Chris Hedges audiobook

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

By Chris Hedges
Read by Jonathan Yen

Tantor Audio 9781568586137
9.43 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781977379139

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

We now live in two Americas. One—now the minority—functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other—the majority—is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority—which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected—presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture—attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies—to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This urgent book forcefully illuminates what many across the political spectrum will recognize as a serious and growing threat to the very concept and practice of an open society.” Publishers Weekly on American Fascists

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Chris Hedges

Author Bio: Chris Hedges

Chris Hedges is the New York Times bestselling author of American Fascists and War Is a Force That Gives Us Meaning. He was a member of the team that won the 2002 Pulitzer Prize for the New York Times coverage of global terrorism. Hedges holds a BA in English literature from Colgate University and a master of divinity from Harvard University.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Social Science
Runtime: 9.43
Audience: Adult
Language: English